We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food & a Great Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Lux Cafe

Grand Lux Cafe
Ranked #79 of 9,467 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Magnificent Mile
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food & a Great Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

We had a great lunch and a great experience at the Grand Lux cafe. We waited for approximately 10 minutes to get a table overlooking Michigan Avenue (well worth the wait). The service was excellent and we ordered Pierogi's and Potato Spring Rolls. Great choice as they were fresh, hot (from the oven) and tasted amazing. We topped off our lunch with two of the Grand Lux's signature desserts: beignets and the chocolate pecan cookies (which we got to go). Order your dessert at the time you order your entrées as they take approximately 30 minutes to prepare. For anyone traveling to Chicago the Grand Lux should definitely be on your list of places to eat.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Craig A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,175
    703
    209
    62
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“No comparison to the Houston Location!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

Liked the look and feel of the restaurant. Disliked the bad attitude staff, no napkins on the table, and OUTRAGEOUSLY overpriced kids refills! Never had to pay 4.50 per kids refills. Get serious PEOPLE they are kids and it's a non-alcoholic drink!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cburr1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“4th of July 2014”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Excellent place to eat. The portions of food are huge and the menu is extensive. It is a bit pricey but the food is worth it. The interior is excellent but the lighting is very low. The desserts are very large also. I had the Beignet's and they could have fed two people.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank pipsqueak38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Never disappoints..Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

I love the Lux café in Chicago. Try to sit in the round room, the view of Michigan Avenue can't be beat. The food is delicious! We even tried the desserts that were out of this world yummy! Homemade carrot cake, blueberry buckle, and choc cheesecake were the best we ever had. Service was great! highly recommend..

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank classygrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
277 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“A little hit, a little miss”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Be forewarned, if you go late at night, they will be out of some of the dishes!

Arrived there at about 11:40p (they close at 12:30a). We ordered the duck wontons, warm brownie, and banoffee pie.

First waiter came back and said no more duck wontons. Ended up getting the Korean ribeye tacos instead (which were quite delish!)

Waiter came back again, no more brownies. Sheesh! Ended up getting the vanilla butter cake (OMG...think creme brûlée topping with a super moist cake underneath, served with ice cream and fresh strawberries and whip
Cream. I just love creme brûlée).

Hubby unfortunately was super disappointed with his banoffee pie. Waaaaay to much whip cream and just not anything spectacular at all. He enjoyed my dessert more!

Helpful?
Thank lhamilt77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Lux Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Grand Lux Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing