We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheesecake Factory Clone”
Review of Grand Lux Cafe

Grand Lux Cafe
Ranked #74 of 9,544 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Magnificent Mile
Oh
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Cheesecake Factory Clone”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We loved our first visit to the Grand Lux. The menu is quite extensive-everything you could imagine. Even the most picky eaters would be able to find something to eat on the menu. The portions are huge and the prices are reasonable. Not as expensive as the Cheesecake Factory. They were not taking reservations and we had a 45 minute wait. It really wasn't too long considering it was a holiday week and a very busy time in the city. Beautiful decor, and great staff.
We will be back the next time we visit downtown Chicago.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dtaskew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,224
    731
    215
    63
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome views”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Whenever family and friends are visiting, i bring them here. Try to get a window seat and just watch them snapchat, instagram, and whatever else away! They have good food along with a great staff. The Grand Lux is the sister restaurant of the cheesecake factory. I highly recommend this place if you are visiting Chicago or have never been here. It's also a good place to bring a date :-)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andyfromchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wood Dale
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful surroundings and Great Food”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

I love this resturant. At first glimpse it looks like an extremely expensive resturant, boy was I wrong.
The food is reasonally priced, the entire Staff is very friendly and the food is so good. I make it a point to stop and eat here on every trip I take to downtown Chicago. Try it, you'll love it!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankenmuth, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great view”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

This was our first visit to the Grand Lux. Wow it was wonderful. The portions were huge and food delicious. Our friends had made reservation, thank goodness as the restaurant was very crowded. The service was very friendly and meals came quickly. It was nice to have the great view of the city from the restaurant. Will definitely
go back again when in Chicago.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“What an experience!”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

This was our first time to eat at a Grand Lux, and I know it won't be the last! Although we had been told that you always have a long wait there, we went there for brunch on Saturday, and were pleasantly surprised to be seated immediately! We had eggs benedict, eggs and pancakes, and Chillaquiles, which we probably should have known better than to order since we come from an area that specializes in Tex-Mex food. Everything was good, especially the beignets that we ordered for dessert. The atmosphere made you feel so special, as there are beautiful architectural elements that make this location great. I'll go again!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank luvsthingsgerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Lux Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Grand Lux Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing