We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant in downtown chicago”
Review of Grand Lux Cafe

Grand Lux Cafe
Ranked #74 of 9,525 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Magnificent Mile
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
105 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great restaurant in downtown chicago”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Very good restaurant, great service, great food and average prices. And don't forget great location and view of Michigan avenue. Highly recommended, better than cheesecake factory, but has similar interior design.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank paul d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,210
    721
    212
    62
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Okemos
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Just Okay”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We came due to the rave reviews of a friend. The interior design was wonderful!!! Our meal was just average, and overpriced. We both ordered the Memphis Ribs, which was probably not the greatest idea considering we were in Chicago. The ribs were itty bitty, and supposedly were a half slab, and looked to be just enough for a sandwich! Though meaty, they tasted like they had been baked in the oven quite awhile ago then reheated. The sauce was scarce. We ordered extra and eventually got it. We did ask the waiter for suggestions when we arrived. He talked so fast and seemed to be in such a hurry (and the place was not full at all) that we gave up trying to understand him and ordered the ribs. He did say that their baked desserts were their speciality. We ordered the blueberry buckle. The cake part honestly tasted like a cake mix cake, which was disappointing. When time to leave, we had a difficult time locating our checked coats. This was a problem since my companion had mobility challenges and we ended up standing quite awhile as they hunted for which level they took our coats to. We will skip the Grand Lux Cafe next trip.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Valerie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Wi
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“dinner with the family”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Too long a wait with many open tables. Same thing at the parent company Cheese Cake Factory. Food was very good. It was very convenient to where we were staying.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank marys454lisbonwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
94 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wear the elastic pants!”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Quite honestly, the first three words that come to mind when I think of the Grand Lux are: Oh. My. God. Stopped there for lunch and was thrilled to see such a great selection on the menu, suited to fit every appetite, from "bites" to heavy lunches, this place has it all. Grab a window seat and enjoy the views of the skyline above Michigan Avenue. I have a hearty appetite and was totally stuffed after lunch; in fact, I couldn't even finish. A fabulous lunch, great drinks, an out-of-this-world dessert and service with a smile...all for $50. You just can't miss.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Copperdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food, great location!”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We visited the Grand Lux Cafe on recommendation of the taxi driver taking us to Michigan Avenue, and I'm so glad we did! It was early lunchtime on a Saturday and we waited less than 10 minutes. The menu is HUGE and has everything you could want. The service was good, the view of Michigan Avenue was incredible! Food was good but the best part was dessert. The beignets were fabulous - best I've had outside of New Orleans. We'll be back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeckyS1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Lux Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Grand Lux Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing