We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classic Chicago Dog”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Downtown Dogs

Downtown Dogs
Ranked #344 of 9,494 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Gold Coast
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
153 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Classic Chicago Dog”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Peggy wanted to try this odd concoction in Chicago so we settled on the Downtown Dog. It was everything it was supposed to be: black poppy seed bun, neon relish, beef dog, pickle, pickled peppers, tomato. It doesn't sound very appetizing, but somehow it works! We both really liked it. The service was quick, we sat outside and enjoyed the buzz of the city.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1Chuckh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    70
    29
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Simply the best dogs in town”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

As a European, you can get quite enough of the odd dogs you can buy on almost every streetcorner in the US. Did you reach that point, or getting there?
Go here, they make em like they're meant to be: tasty like you never had em!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank FvE_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
75 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Tasty and inexpensive!”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Our group of 5 ordered from Downtown Dogs on 2 different nights from Pippin's and Streeter's. Italian beef was good, but the sliders and fries were awesome! When you want tasty and inexpensive, Downtown Dogs is your place!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
75 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Just what I hoped for..”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

I wanted a good original Chicago hotdog and this place came through big time. Great dog, great french fries..I will go back next time in Chicago!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GWoodall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
758 reviews
556 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Let'em just warm it up.”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Very bad. Order hot dog, brat and french fries. You know it's bad when the flat top has 15 dogs just sitting on the side. You order and they warm it up for you. The brat was worse, so dry and crusty. I can say the french fries were awesome. However I would stay away or find out when they open so you can get a fresh dog off the grill.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smiller560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Downtown Dogs also viewed

 

Been to Downtown Dogs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing