We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best service - feels like home”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Las Palmas Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #1,615 of 9,548 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Northwest Side
Cross street: Honore
Transit: Damen Blue Line and Wood Street stop on #72 (North Ave) bus.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best service - feels like home”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Amazing dinner... super fresh guacamole, Maria the host is amazing, the food delicious and the seating - outside under trees or inside by the fireplace could not be more cozy - highly recommend the cucumber Margarita... refreshing and tasty! Loved it... great value too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    6
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Went here with a few friends. I love Cuban food, and Chicago seems to have very few good Cuban restaurants. The place is a little small, but great intimate environment. Very casual and comfy. The guacamole is very good, and I love that you can get it made mild to spicy depending on your taste. In addition, they have excellent margaritas. I had the steak brazed in rum with plantains and it was excellent! Prices are a little above average, but the food is definitely worth it. Definitely worth a try here. My friends say they have an excellent outside seating area when weather allows.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GlasaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food is good, but overpriced”
Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

We've been several times, and it's always good, but I always leave feeling like I've overpaid. Service is perfunctory, but decent. Not as fancy, but incredible value down the street at El Rincon Azteca (BYOB) just east of Wood St.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zsja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
145 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Muy ambiance!”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Fabulous solarium, even at night. Friendly service, great selection of Mexican food (the fish tacos and apple pie the standouts). They don't seem to serve beer, but cocktails are generous and inexpensive. The weekend entertainment (mariachi guitarist) is adorable.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Always delicious!”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I've lived in the neighborhood for 3 years now and my first time to Las Palmas was just this summer. And I have been back 2 more times this summer! The food is more gourmet mexican at a fair price. I've had a different dish each time...Pulled pork, Steak with Mole, and Veggie enchaladas (not the menu name). The menu does change slightly each season. I would get each one again! Margs and Guac are also very good. This place always delivers! Highly recommend!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank erin1925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Palmas Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Las Palmas Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing