We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ribs, Ribs, and more Ribs! (and don't forget the fries)”

Miller's Pub & Restaurant
Ranked #131 of 9,495 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown / The Loop
Beachwood, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ribs, Ribs, and more Ribs! (and don't forget the fries)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

During a recent business trip to Chicago I went out for a walk to explore a bit and look for a place to eat. I came upon Miller's Pub. I ran in grabbed a salad and on the way out paused to read some of the letters on the wall. One mentioned a gentleman's granddaughter who loved their ribs. I needed no more coaching and so I went back the next afternoon for lunch to see what this granddaughter loved so much. May I just say I was late for the afternoon session and these ribs were the reason!!
The sauce was heavenly and I definitely needed the wet wipes they brought to your table (lol).
I was back again the next evening for dinner and since I had more time, I was ready for a rib feast. I have to also give a shout out to the french fries...they were perfect!! I mean really, really excellent! The Caesar salad was good...well, I'll post a photo or two and let you see for yourself. A few weeks later I'm still thinking about those fries and ribs.
The service was exceptional and friendly and on the way out, yes, I admit it, I purchased 4 bottles of their "Miller's Pub World Famous Barbecue Sauce", a bottle of their Cayenne Hot Sauce, and the gentleman threw in a bottle of Steak Sauce when he recognized me from the prior two visits.
If you are in Chicago, and yes they have gobs of wonderful restaurants, this is a definite 'go to'. Enjoy!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leslie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    541
    576
    185
    32
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
90 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Decent beer selection, but food was meh.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

More and more restaurants are upping their game when it comes to beer selections, and Miller's had enough choices to satisfy most any craft beer aficionado. The food was just OK. As a previous reviewer noted the "World Famous Ribs" were just OK. I have had better ribs at Applebee's. Not that they were bad, just nothing special. My friend had a Reuben and it was again good but nothing to go out of the way for. We visited around 8 pm or so on a Monday night and were seated quickly and the service was good. Miller's will satisfy your hunger, but I don't know it will warm the cockles of your heart.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LittleBoyBrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos
Level Contributor
478 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Miller's Pub was next to our hotel so we decided to try it. Several people had mentioned it was an "in" place to eat while in Chicago. Can't say we were overly impressed. Had a "famous" rib dinner and fish and chips. Can't say either meal stood out in any way. Average and adequate. The service was good. We ate close to the bar which was very noisy and the foot traffic by our table was constant. I think there are much better options in this general area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Beats going to the chains”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

My wife and I dined here on May 6, 2013. I had the "world famous" baby back ribs. They were acceptable but nothing special. And despite traveling a good part of the globe, I've never heard of Miller's ribs before. She had the spaghetti and meatballs. She said it wasn't very good (I didn't try because I find spaghetti and meatballs one of the most detestable meals ever conceived).

On the plus side, the waitstaff was attentive and friendly. The atmosphere was good, though there were many paintings on the wall of people that looked like they had cirrhosis of the liver (not sure what that was all about). The prices were also reasonable for downtown Chicago. All and all, I'd go here before eating at one of the chains that dominate the downtown.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jason_Klimowicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
650 reviews
515 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Miller's Pub is a Chicago institution”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Went to Miller's tonight for the first time in years, and am glad I did. This place is really old-school in the best sense of the word. When the maitre'd tells you "Follow Rocco to your table" it's like you're in a time warp. I had the world-famous (as they describe them) Canadian Baby Back Ribs. They were really excellent. Tender, smoky, and their BBQ sauce is good, slightly spicy. With that meal you get a good side salad, bread, and a side dish. Tons of food, but all good. There are signed photos on the walls from all kinds of famous visitors. Seems like everyone has been there. Where else can you find signed photos of Frank Sinatra, Mickey Rooney, (former Chicago Symphony Music Director) Daniel Barenboim, and....Spiro Agnew? If you're downtown and have a chance, don't miss a visit to Miller's!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KaneoheBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miller's Pub & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Miller's Pub & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing