We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How is it rated so highly...?”
Review of Mirabell Restaurant - CLOSED

Mirabell Restaurant
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Northwest Side
Transit: Blue Line ( Addison Stop )
Description: Mirabell is an oasis of proud authentic German tradition, with three beautiful dining rooms from which to choose. Chef Werner's Mirabell Restaurant & Lounge serves German- American and Vegetarian Cuisine. Each entree is prepared fresh and is personally approved by Chef Werner Heil before being served. People come from all over for our Wiener Schnitzel, which our customers say is the best they ever tasted. Other favorites include the Kalbsteak Mirabell, Goulash, Sauerbraten, Kassler Ribs, Original Zuricher Kalbsgeschnetzeltes, Beef Tongue, Ox Tails and Beef Rouladen and an assortment of veal dishes. In addition to traditional German food, we prepares fresh fish, a variety of chicken dishes, steaks and daily specials for lunch and dinner.
Kuwait City
Level Contributor
207 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“How is it rated so highly...?”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

I had driven past Mirabell many times and always felt I should try it. On checking Tripadvisor reviews were mixed, but I gave it a try anyway.

So... I have no idea how this place is rated so highly.

Decor and furniture are old and worn... the menu appears largely deep-fried.

There are many alternatives in Chicago (especially in Lincoln Square area) if wanting German food - just don't try this one.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PatrickJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    7
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
154 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“A candidate for "Restaurant Impossible"”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

The combination of the dated and worn decor along with the mediocre food signals that this restaurant is well past its prime. Have been twice in the past couple years because they offered discounts on the restaurant coupon sites, but even with a discount coupon, it was not worth the visit. We were in the main dining room on a Saturday night, and there was only one other table of customers. I had one of the traditional Wiener Schnitzel entrees and it was really inedible. All I could think throughout the meal was that if I could submit this restaurant as a candidate for the show "Restaurant Impossible," I would.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roselle, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Wonderful Little Place”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I just love this little place. We try to go a few times a year. The food is great, and the owner is welcoming. Maybe it's silly, but I like that they always serve beer in apporpriate glasses and steins. It's a short bus ride away from Wrigley Field, which makes it a good place too after ball games. Liver dumpling soup and German beer. Life is good!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful food in a cozy German-American atmosphere”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I was seeking out German food in Chicago and found Mirabell. It's conveniently located on the Addison Blue Line on the way to O'Hare and within 5 minutes walking distance from the train station. The restaurant is in the style of a German Tavern or Wirtshaus. They also have a cute beer garden. The service is very friendly. The beer selection is impressive and food is just like Oma would make. I recommend the spicy Goulash soup. The Hummel display is a little bit kitsch overkill but charming all the same.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank rychlost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Authentic German Dishes”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Although a little off the beaten path, it is close to an EL stop and well worth a couple of blocks of walking. The Goulasch, Wiener Schnitzel Veal w/ Spatzle is outstanding. A huge selection of German beers compliment the meal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RASMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing