We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great find”

Moon Palace Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Moon Palace Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,091 of 9,494 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Cross street: Wentworth and Cermak
Transit: Cermak-Chinatown (Red Line)
Description: Welcome to Moon Palace! We have been serving Chinese food since the early 90's. At Moon Palace we specialize in Shanghai and Mandarin cuisine and are famous for many of our delicious dishes and great service. For our prospective customers, Moon Palace offers a unique experience of Chicago's Chinatown. A jewel resting at the entrance of Chicago's Chinatown, Moon Palace offers quality food, a comfortable and relaxed ambiance, and a full bar menu. Whether you are coming to enjoy a nice lunch date or preparing for a night out with the family, Moon Palace is the perfect place to be. Looking forward to serving you soon!
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We have been going to China Town for many, many years but have just recently eaten twice at Moon Palace. Tucked next to the fire station. Eggplant was very tasty, not mushy and did not look like a "mystery" dish often served at other restaurants. Scallops in black pepper sauce were sweet and fresh and the pepper steak was one of the best. Peking duck was excellent. . . Very tender and very crispy skin without a layer of fat. This is now our "go to" place in China Town.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon3721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    34
    9
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Conroe, Texas
Level Contributor
98 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

The location was great, just down the street from the Chinatown parking lot and train stop. Got validated parking in the restaurant. The food was terrific. Ordered simple wontons with kung pao chicken and it was delicious. Tons of peppers and rice with it and hot tea. Price was very reasonable. A good sign was that the place was busy with many Asians as well as Americans, and everyone seemed to be enjoying it! Would go here again for sure.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jollyroger519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
320 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“Great little Chinese Restaurant”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I was in Chicago on business, and a local coworker took me to Chinatown for dinner. This is his favorite restaurant in the area - he says he's been going there for 30+ years. The restaurant is modernly decorated - evidently there was a fire several years ago, and it was remodeled afterwards.

The food was served quickly and was quite delicious. I had egg drop soup, steamed dumplings, and the Mongolian chicken dish with white rice - all delicious!

I would highly recommend when in the area - and it is very near the EL - so convenient to get to from the city.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank StevenVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
422 reviews
281 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Reliably excellent”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I have probably eaten at Moon Palace more than 1000 times over the last thirty years, and have never had a bad meal. Their hot and sour soup is the best that I have ever had, and their dumplings are as good as the best that I had in a recent trip to Shanghai. Moo Shu is excellent. Try the lo mein with special sauce and the duck with black mushrooms -- you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KingofThreePutts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Prices”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This was one of the best places we've eaten in Chicago's Chinatown. The food was above-average quality and prices were very reasonable, especially for lunch. The hot-and-sour soup was marvelous on a cold day. We had fried rice, orange chicken, cashew chicken, and shrimp and vegetables, and all were very good. I wouldn't hesitate going there again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maa-maa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Moon Palace Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing