We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inexpensive but very good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Star of Siam

Star of Siam
Ranked #287 of 9,466 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Near North Side
Description: Star of Siam serves healthy, delicious, great value food. Star of Siam is the best choice for anyone who loves Thai food. Menu highlights include Padthai Noodles, Cashew Chicken, Tomyum (hot & sour lemongrass soup), Satay with signature peanut sauce and cucumber salad, and authentic tasty curries. Star of Siam is a convenient place to escape from the bustle of downtown.
Sandwich, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Inexpensive but very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Star of Siam has very good food at exceptionally reasonable prices. This is amazing given their location. It's very casual but you can make reservations (suggested on weekends).

It gets quite crowded and can be a bit loud. You may be less than a foot from the next table. It may be difficult to understand if you're not from a big city but the large number of people and the high ambient noise level actually offers privacy. Sort of like walking though Times Square on a weekend in nice weather.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    167
    65
    22
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Wow, this food sucks.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stuck in chicagos winter storm, my beloved and I decided to order for delivery. The quoted time for delivery was 45 mins, but they got to the hotel pretty quick considering the storm. What's in the bag? Red chicken curry with a side of rice, pud see eww, crab ragoons, Thai ice coffee, and a Thai ice tea. The curry was bland, spicy but bland that it overpowered the taste, the portion was small, and very little soup considering I did order curry right? The Thai ice coffee, was so strong I thought it was Vietnamese coffee. My entree was the pud see eww, looks like it took after the name here in Chicago, eww was all I could say looking at the barely touched container as I threw it in the garbage. All I taste was fish sauce, and the beef was too dry. The crab ragoon, was mediocre. The only nice thing I would rave about is the tea, which happens to be thee only thing we finished for a whopping $40.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mtsoulsz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Pathetic downturn in a once great Thai restaurant!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

I had been going to Star of Siam for years, shortly after it opened as a spin off of the old Thai Star Restaurant. On a visit this past Saturday night, the staff was attentive and pleasant. The "rice paper" spring roll was nearly 1/8" thick rather than paper thin. The meat in our curry dish was the poorest quality I've ever experienced. Tough, little flavor and not even close to be considered a good value! The restaurant is beautiful and comfortable, but for thier own sake, hope the owners get back to quality rather than serving something you would expect from your local mall's food court!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Outdoorpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Service is super fast and the food is excellent for a really cheap price. I go there with my husband, with small or large groups of friends, and it's always the same, we have a great time

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Julita011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petoskey, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A taste of Thailand”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This little gem is our favorite place to eat on our annual visit to Chicago. We enjoy the food so much that we will eat there twice in one day if we can make the time. The decor is simple and cozy, but the variety of the Thai food is spectacular. They are famous for the masaman curry, but everything is delicious and authentic. Having lived in Asia for several years, we are quite particular about Thai cuisine, but the Star of Siam is wonderful in every way. Easy to find on Illinois Street near the Magnificent Mile. There is also a great record shop right next door!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank singaporesue2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Star of Siam also viewed

 

Been to Star of Siam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing