We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss the Greek Fries”
Review of Athenian Room

Athenian Room
Ranked #1,570 of 9,668 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Lincoln Park
florida
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Don't miss the Greek Fries”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We walked a bit from the train station but it was worth the hike. I loved the roasted chicken and greek fries with feta cheese.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank jwoman9835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    23
    11
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Cloud, MN
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Greek Food”
Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Went on a Chicago greeters tour. Our tour guide suggested Athenia. The steak fries or Greek fries as they called them were fantastic. The chicken kalamata and kabobs were outstanding too. We were very pleased with lunch that day!

Helpful?
Thank Corpy1210
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Grand Haven, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Food was good but not truly Greek”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

My family and I ate here after a day at the Lincoln Park Zoo. The prices were good and the food was tasty. However, if you want lots of Greek choices, there are not too many here other than Gyros, baklava, and Greek salad. If you want moussaka, saganaki, dolmades, etc..... this is not the place for you. My son had a good burger, husband has shrimp ( it was breaded and fried and just okay) and the rest of us had Greek salad ( the dressing and feta cheese were good.) The atmosphere is like a lunch diner - not fancy. The staff was nice. I would choose this restaurant for lunch but something nicer with more Greek options for dinner.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NancyJI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome lunch in DePaul neighborhood”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

My starving son and I ate lunch here after visiting DePaul. We sat outside, had simple but good food, and appreciated the fair prices and excellent, friendly service. Definitely recommend it!

Helpful?
Thank JMooreColl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan P.R.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Steak is great”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

I don't know many Greek restaurants that have a good steak more or less a great one. It's a nice size grilled skirt steak perfectly seasoned and served over fries that absorb the juices. Mmmm one of the best parts. Was a little thrown back by the fact that they don't have saganaki (flaming cheese) which I thought was a given at any Greek restaurant. Anyway the chicken was good and the salad was great with a big block of feta on top. The only reason I'm not giving 5 stars is for not having a Greek staple. The flaming cheese!!!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Damian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Athenian Room also viewed

 

Been to Athenian Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing