We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best beer in Chicago!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Goose Island Wrigleyville Brew Pub - CLOSED

Goose Island Wrigleyville Brew Pub
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $17
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Wrigleyville
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
211 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Best beer in Chicago!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Great beer! Locally made in Chicago, so a must-try. I recommend "312", named after the area code.
Food wasn't the best though.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank TonyM_WorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    70
    29
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
1,845 reviews
1,115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 518 helpful votes
“Outstanding beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Goose by far has some of the best beer in the world, they have won enough awards for it, and so far InBev hasn't screwed that up yet.
Its easy to have a good bar with some of the best beer selection possible, but to throw in outstanding pub fair it elevates this bar that much higher. It was packed after the cubs game let out but there was plenty of servers and actually a table here and there to sit at, still one of the better place to snack at in the city.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wick1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good location,food,beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stopped in for lunch just after a Cubs game. It was busy, but some seats were available. Menu was good, beer (called Sofie) was excellent. I ordered the Stilton burger which came with full garlic cloves on it...yummy! The dark rye bread it was served on was amazing. The burger was cooked perfectly @ medium. The waiter could not have been nicer or attentive. The waiter really made the experience what it was...I think his name was Michael. Ambiance was great, Hawks game and Cubs game both on large screen TV's. (Only complaint was bathrooms were up a steep step of stairs. This is not really a BIG complaint I guess...just maybe an FYI for those not able to climb stairs.) The first floor of this pub is so huge, it's a shame that there are no bathrooms on the same floor. I'm sure I'm not the only one who assumed the kitchen was the bathroom and tried to walk in. The kitchen staff was kind enough to point me to the staircase with a very large "Restrooms" written on it. Our bill was not too bad for 2 beers, appetizer and lunch for 2. Location great...just across from Wrigley Field. Great place for tourists, but also a hangout for locals.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank truparkhaysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Ballpark fun but surprisingly good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Pregame in Wrigleyville at Goose Island and had a great meal - the beer was very nice (4 of us all got something different so there was a tasting all around) and the food - simple bar food favorites - was a great surprise. Appetizer pickle chips and soft pretzels were both good. A basic turkey club was great. Everyone in our party of seven enjoyed their meal. Expected a nothing special pre game lunch with beer and had very good food and interesting and tasty beers. Fun.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Honeymooner0714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Brewpub Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Awesome location two blocks from Wriggley Field. A completeley different vibe than the Clybourn location. It has that baseball stadium pre & post game feeling & this place is big in size. It can be a little crazy during Cubs game days I was told by our bartender! They have a nice old school bar where we sat at for a couple of craft beers. This location has 24 offerings but some are in the bottle which they pour out, We sampled the Wisconsin Cheese Curds which are good! The staff and patrons were friendly! We had a great experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing