We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great asian food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Big Bowl - CLOSED

Big Bowl
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Chinese, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Gold Coast
Cross street: Cedar & State
Transit: Division/Clark stop on CTA red line CTA bus stops at Cedar and Lake Shore Drive and also on State and Elm.
Rayleigh
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great asian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Great asian food in an area, surprisingly, short of good quality asian food options. A good mix of chinese and thai menu options, great for families, children get to pick their vegetables and greens for the stir fry. Hot and sour soup could be more "hot" and "sour" but generally very good with a decent selection of malbecs and strong reds on the wine list.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank nkhandhia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    37
    22
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Joliet, Illinois
Level Contributor
53 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A bit of heat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

Big Bowl is a Lettuce Entertainment restaurant and doe not disappoint in quality or price. I went with a business associate and we ordered the Spicy Sichuan Green Beans and the same in Asparagus (seasonal). The Chinese know how to cook veggies and should probably teach the Greeks. The main entrees were Steak and Noodles with Fresno Chilies and Kung Pao Chicken (Gluten Free) for any one that cares about such things. All of the food had a nice little kick to it but everything was prepared and tasted wonderful. Nice spring day sitting in an open air table overlooking Rush Street. Highly recommended!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not traditional, but still very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

I've tried both Big Bowls in Chicago and this is definitely my favourite. It's location is more appealing when the sun is shining, with it's folding out front.

I've tried both the Pad Thai chicken and Kung Pao chicken, both of which were extremely fresh and flavoursome. Not traditional but more adapted to a chain restaurant. Either way still very nice and is a nice change from burgers/hot dogs. The service was excellent on both occasions.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank TripMember07012016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zedelgem, Belgium
Level Contributor
164 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

Nothing special, not real asian food, more a chain restaurant with small menu and adapt to western taste.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank tiger2669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of our favorites!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We love Big Bowl. We live in Michigan and frequently visit Chicago since our daughter attends Loyola. This is our favorite restaurant when we visit!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gregg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing