We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,511)
Filter reviews
2,511 results
Traveler rating
1,986
419
71
23
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,986
419
71
23
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnico osteriathe original pancake housethe gold coastgreat locationtavern on rushcorner kingoak streetrush streetrain showerwalk in showerboutique hotelwithin walking distancethe magnificent milehotel barjunior suiterestaurants and shoppinggreat shopping
Filter
Updating list...
1,790 - 1,795 of 2,511 reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2015

Great service! They go above and beyond! They made my birthday very special! First they upgraded us to a beautiful room and then when we came back from dinner there was a note to call the front desk when we get back, when we did they brought up a birthday letter with a cute candy basket to go with my 30th birthday celebration. I couldn't have asked for better service and will 100% stay their again!!

  • Stayed: January 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lsexton124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2015 via mobile

Spent one night at this hotel following a weekend stay at the Waldorf one block away. Both hotels are in an excellent Gold Coast location surrounded by great dining and upscale shops. Highly recommend staying in this neighborhood. Felt very safe and is an easy walk to the Mag mile shops and approx a mile to the river/financial district.

While the WA is sophisticated and elegant with lots of white/light marble, the Thompson is rustic urban chic with dark wood decor. The scent was lovely as well- like a tobacco-based men's cologne. Very light but effective in defining the rich ambiance of the hotel.

We booked a corner king room which had three full window walls with windows that opened. Very bright and airy. The bed was extremely comfortable with soft thick linens! Loved the bed!! A welcome change from the larger but much darker WA Suite and worn bed.

Bathroom was long and narrow with single vanity, soaking tub and shower. Although much smaller and not elegant like the WA, the shower rainhead and rinsing wand had excellent pressure. Toiletries were decent sized CG Biegelow products.

The lobby bar area was hip in a rustic way with a "living wall". Breakfast at Nico was excellent with unique fare.

Front desk and bellman/doormen were exceptionally friendly.

Would definitely stay again and highly recommend either a corner room or junior suite.

Stayed: January 2015, traveled with friends
2  Thank sunandmartinis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2015

My wife and I stayed for our staycation. We had the corner king. Big windows with large couch. Fantastic bathroom with soaker tub and glass walled shower. King size bed. Bell staff greeted us and opened the door for us every time we came or went. Everything about the stay was great. Will be staying again sometime soon.

  • Stayed: January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Christian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2015

Yeah I usually don't leave reviews online, but this place is amazing. The rooms, the view and the staff provide for an excellent time. I booked on chase.com travel booking site for $99 a night. This hotel is by far the best hotel in Chicago, look no further you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2015, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Shane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2015

We stayed at the Thompson because we got a "deal," but we'll return because we liked it so much. Wonderful location and the lobby has a fun vibe. The room was smallish--common for hotels in bigger cities--but clean and well appointed. I'm still too old and not hip enough to appreciate the glass in the bathroom door but it is fairly opaque. Love, love, love the shower.

Did not try the bar or restaurant attached, but would like to next time.

We needed limited help from the staff but service that we received was excellent from the front desk, door man and valet.

  • Stayed: January 2015, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FredPebble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews