We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Ranked #5 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
South Africa
1 review
“Great experience”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

My 5 day stay at the Thompson's Chicago was such an amazing experience. My room was superb. The view was superb. The service was superb. Our food at Nicos was excellent. I would definitely go back any day and i highly recommend this hotel for either business and for pleasure.
Amazing. Thank You!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,045 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,617
    346
    57
    17
    8
See reviews for
360
849
77
423
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aston,PA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2014

From the moment you arrive, you are treated magnificently! ALL of the hotel staff were just wonderful. Very helpful and went above and beyond to make sure that you were comfortable. This was our first time in Chicago so this was a wonderful first impression.
The rooms are spectacular and the bathrooms are wonderful. The rooms were spotless.
Very quiet hotel with no noise from the hallways.
There are no coffee makers in the room but there is coffee and tea every morning in the hotel lobby.
There is a restaurant on site but we did not eat there. Looked great though.
Hotel is located in a great section of town with many restaurants within walking distance. You can easily walk to the beach at Lake Michigan and to the beautiful stores on Michigan Ave.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littleworl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2014

This hotel is all about location . The rooms are beautiful and the view was amazing. The food at Nico was tasteless and definitely not worth 4 stars.Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. We stayed for 4 nights and this would be my first choice again :)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris_a18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2014

We stayed at this location several times when it was a Sutton Place and last Winter when it become the Thompson. Our recent stay include a bargain weekend rate including continental breakfast, free parking, and a corner suite. The gold coast location is high energy. This remodeled hotel is contemporary modern with the latest technology, good wifi, Hi def large screen TV(s), USB plugs, great lighting, comfortable beds, and great bathrooms.
The cons were
1. Maids did not replenish toiletries etc over a 3 night stay. They use cheap, one ply toilet paper. This was so surprising given the quality of the rest of the hotel.
2. Air conditioner blows air right at the bed for a drafty night.
3. Beds only have a winter weight comforter and you have to request a top sheet. When I ask the mid if they had a light summer blanket she said they were too heavy and uncomfortable.
4. If you have a car parking is ~$56/ day but it includes in/out privileges. If you don't need in/out, park it your self at the same garage 200 feet away for $36/ day.
5 They have rain shower heads but not enough water pressure for it to be a "good shower"( and I was in a lower floor).
It is a nice place to stay but they need to fix few problems to command the clientele they are seeking.

Room Tip: Look for deals, and specials. If you have family in the neighborhood, they have a rate for you. Inte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MinnetonkaMikie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2014

We loved this hotel! Nicely situated in a good part of town, right by the fashionable Oak Street shops and the eateries on Rush Street.

We stayed three nights in June. Arrived at 03.00 to a very pleasant welcome. Our Room 11.13 is a corner room with floor-to-ceiling windows on two walls giving the room a light, airy feel and great views to the Lake and over the city. Very comfortable and well-appointed, plus good bathroom with all the trimmings. Good room service. We took breakfast in our room and they sent a little card outlining the day's weather forecast, a nice touch. Everything is clean and modern without being flashy.

Had drinks in the hotel bar on a Monday night and the atmosphere was fizzing, more like a Saturday. Quirky, book-lined lobby and interesting art-work on the walls. Enjoyed dipping into some of the books, all of which have colour-coordinated covers to match the hotel decor. Cool!

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at the Thompson. It made our trip to Chicago a real pleasure Felt very at home and could have stayed on!

Highly recommended if you want to get away from the corporates and start enjoying life.

Room Tip: Higher floors and corner rooms for light, quiet and better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank n0rbr8ck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macomb, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2014

I just returned from my first trip to Chicago. We were celebrating our 3 year anniversary and spent 3 nights here. The Thompson far surpassed my expectations and really made the trip the luxurious experience that it was. We booked the regular King room. Upon check-in, I requested a higher floor with hopes of a better city view. They put us up on the 19th floor, which did indeed have magnificent views of the city (including the Willis Tower). It took about an additional 20 minutes to meet this request and prepare the new room, which I thought was perfectly reasonable- but they were very apologetic and offered us a $25 bar credit to use while we waited.
When we got up to the room, I was amazed. The color scheme, furniture and bathroom were all incredibly modern and stylish. The rainfall shower was amazing and very large. The bed linens were so comfortable, as well. I really fell in love with the floor to cieling windows, again delivering a breathtaking view of the city (particularly at night). We were getting ready to go out when we heard a knock on our door- they delivered us a bottle of champagne and a card wishing us a happy anniversary! Such a nice surprise and a very special keepsake.
The room was spick and span when we returned each evening. On our 2nd night there, we ate at the hotel restaurant, Nico. Boy was that a treat! We sat on the patio, very beautiful and romantic in the evening. The area surrounding the hotel is also very beautiful and a bit quieter than other parts of the city, I thought. Cocktails, steak, lobster spaghetti, sorbet...both the food and service were excellent. Definitely the right atmosphere for a special occasion.
All in all, the Thompson must be the nicest hotel we have ever stayed at. Very lavish and high-end, especially for what we paid.They succeeded in impressing us every chance they got. Should we return to Chicago in the future, I definitely know where we will book. Thank you for an amazing anniversary!

**My only word of caution should you book here- the front desk did not inform me of a $300 security deposit. Because I booked the room with a debit card, this was immedietely withdrawn from my account. I thought I had been mistakenly charged for a night and called the hotel billing services, as this took a sizeable chunk out of our remaining trip funds. Cameron resolved the issue for me almost immedietely (got my bank on the line and handled the refund process). By no means a huge issue, just missing information; just be aware that there is a hefty security deposit.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view. Request upon check-in if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tayl0rm11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014

We originally picked the hotel primarily because of its location a bit away from all the other hotels on Magnificent Mile but being nonetheless close to everything: shopping, restaurants, the lake etc. It really was a good choice also beyond pure location.

When we arrived at 2.30 pm after an international flight from Europe, our room unfortunately was not ready. At reception they said they would get housekeeping right to it and give us a call on our cell once the room was ready, in any case it would be ready for check-in time at 4 pm. We were back at the hotel at 4 pm. The room was still not ready. We waited in the lobby for another hour without the room being ready. We had dinner reservations at 6 pm, therefore the front desk staff gave us another room to get showered and changed and moved our luggage while we were out for dinner. The front desk was really kind about it but in the end of the day, after a long haul flight, all you want at some point is to get to your room and unpack!

We also got vouchers for a drink at the bar which was accommodating and appreciated but we did have the impression throughout our stay that the hotel had a bit of an issue with their housekeeping (in particular getting round to rooms).

Apart from that small hiccup upon arrival, the hotel was really great, very attentive staff overall (front desk and bellmen in particular) and we had a great stay. Would highly recommend staying here as the location, design and decorations of the hotel are really great and set them clearly apart from the standard upscale chain hotels.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sw972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#12 of 190 in Chicago
2,807 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 190 in Chicago
2,350 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 190 in Chicago
1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel

Property: Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Address: 21 E. Bellevue Place, Chicago, IL 60611-1174
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine your own luxe studio in the skies overlooking the hip Gold Coast neighborhood's leafy streets, with sweeping floor-to-ceiling vistas of the Chicago skyline and Great Lake waterscape daring you to look away. Parking available for additional fee per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, HotelsforEveryone, Prestigia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TravelUp, HotelPower, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing