We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VIP Treatment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel to your Saves list
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   21 E. Bellevue Place, Chicago, IL 60611 (Gold Coast)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Receive Up To 25% Off
Ranked #3 of 182 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Elgin, Illinois
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“VIP Treatment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

From the moment we arrived at The Thompson, our experience was nothing less than perfect. Staying for an anniversary weekend, we were immediately upgraded to a posh penthouse suite, which was impeccably clean and amazingly comfortable. The staff was not at all pretentious (which you often find at a hotel of this caliber), but instead was helpful, welcoming, professional and accommodating. It was not an inexpensive stay, but for the special occasion, it was worth every penny.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CurlyGirl19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Saint Louis
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

No words can describe how awesome and friendly the hotel is. The staff is great: they do everything in your need. The front desk welcomes you, makes sure everything is set and ready for you as soon as you walk in. The concierge was very helpful with getting around the city and recommending the top restaurants to eat at! The location is even better, perfect location in downtown that's not too busy and awesome views from any room at the hotel! I cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajla_Hu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Terrific location for a great hotel. Four star service from the entire staff - from valet to bell persons to front desk to concierge. Nicely appointed, well designed rooms. Rare for a hotel, the ground floor restaurant Nico is known in its own right and did not disappoint. This is now our go to hotel in the city.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Candice K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

How can one even begin to explain how wonderful our experience staying at The Thompson was? Simply stated the staff, the location, the form and function of the rooms, the restaurant (Nico) and their amazing staff deserve grand accolades. My partner and I travel frequently all over the states, from the East Coast to the West Coast, and I am comfortable saying, this was/is the most wonderful experience we have ever had. I can't thank the staff enough for treating us like royalty; Especially, the Team at Nico.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lifejourn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I get my bookings through Magellan Hotels. They beat the price by almost $80/per night than any on-line booking company. We had a corner bedroom room with separate shower and separate bathtub. A corner view in a seating area with a lovely sofa and huge flat screen TV in the bedroom and sitting area (2 TVs). Staff is attentive. You have to use your room key to ride on the elevator, which the staff doesn't explain that. It's in a great location and use of the car and driver is great.I found the room and bathroom to be very clean. I would love to stay here again. It's quiet and the beds are very comfortable. It was hard trying to figure out how to turn on the lights.

Room Tip: use Magellan to book your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simbathebigpoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

Can't explain here by any words, amazing Location, comfortable Room, very Clean great service, and very friendly staff. Except Breakfast that I wish was include, the other things were amazing and fabulous. I am so happy to chose this hotel and highly recommend it to you too

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Shima M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

My wife, baby and I had the chance to stay 8 nights at the Thompson Chicago.
The surrounding areas are great! Nice boutiques around as well as great dinning options.
Staff was absolutely helpful and friendly.
The room was amazing, nice views to the city arquitecture landscape.
I can only recommend this hotel, if you can afford it make an effort to stay in the corner suites, these are a little bit more spacious, include a very cool bathtub.
Finally, the Nico Osteria serves some amazing dishes, not only for dinner but also for breakfast and lunch. I ordered severaltimes from the room-service menu and I can only recommend the rigatone and the hamburger.

Room Tip: Make an effort to stay in the corner suites, these are a little bit more spacious, include a very co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ROGALA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#1 of 182 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 stars 1,398 reviews
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#2 of 182 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 stars 2,025 reviews
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Near North Side
Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#10 of 182 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 3,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel

Address: 21 E. Bellevue Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 182 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine your own luxe studio in the skies overlooking the hip Gold Coast neighborhood's leafy streets, with sweeping floor-to-ceiling vistas of the Chicago skyline and Great Lake waterscape daring you to look away. Parking available for additional fee per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, MrandMrsSmith, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Low Cost Holidays and Jetsetter so you can book your Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing