We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Ranked #9 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Thompson was a perfect location for our weekend trip to celebrate our anniversary. The room was spectacular and the service goes a step above! Easy to get around town from here and many choices for restaurants close by.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanSchek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,258)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,836 - 1,842 of 2,258 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2014

Stayed for one night with our large dog and felt very welcomed bringing our pet. Room was beautiful and people were extremely nice. Ordered room service and it was extremely expensive and not very plentiful. Only complaint I have. Everything else was very nice.

Room Tip: Corner suite was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJG37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

I would not stay anywhere else in Chicago. The staff is incredible, the hotel magnificent and the location - perfect! I have stayed for both business and pleasure and am never disappointed. It is located within a short walking distance of the finest shopping and restaurants. I would recommend to anyone coming to Chicago.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michele L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel. Friendly and helpful staff. Would recommend this place to anyone. No spa in hotel but staff will more than accommodate any requests. I loves this hotel and Chicago great city but ugly people

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

This is probably the best hotel in Chicago. It has a prefect location. The staff is extremely friendly. The rooms are comfortable, clean and well appointed. We stayed after a Blackhawks game. I wish we would of had more time. It was my wife's birthday. They upgraded us for free. THANKS We will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delmov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We picked this based on reviews on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed! Location is fantastic, corner if Bellevue and Rush and a block off Michigan Ave. it is in the heart of the Gold Coast, very cool boutiques around Oak Street and wonderful restaurants close within walking distance. Tavern on Rush is right across the street. The staff is Fantastic! From the moment we checked in to our checkout and car retrieval! So friendly, helpful and customer oriented, didn't make you feel as if you were an imposition, but really a guest! Can't say enough about the feeling this hotel gives you, very warm and inviting! The rooms are modern and clean, bathroom is well appointed and shower is huge! We ate brunch at the hotel and it was to die for! Again, incredible service, knowledgeable and friendly staff and the food was EXCELLENT! We were there for mom's day with our three girls, 18, 21 and 23. They would definitely go back! Please check it out, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Queeniefromthezoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

Great location to shopping and restaurants. The matress was very comfortable, but no top sheet. The thermostat was set at 65 degrees and the room was warm to sleep in with only a quilt.Luxury bath robes to relax in. Deep hydrology bathtub and a separate shower with rainshower showerhead. All the staff we encountered were extremely pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#19 of 191 in Chicago
3,109 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#3 of 191 in Chicago
2,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#10 of 191 in Chicago
2,289 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#4 of 191 in Chicago
1,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel

Address: 21 E. Bellevue Place, Chicago, IL 60611-1174
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: $198 - $721 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine your own luxe studio in the skies overlooking the hip Gold Coast neighborhood's leafy streets, with sweeping floor-to-ceiling vistas of the Chicago skyline and Great Lake waterscape daring you to look away. Parking available for additional fee per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelPower, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing