We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going to Chicago? Stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Ranked #5 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Peoria, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Going to Chicago? Stay here!”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

I surprised my husband with a short stay-cation in Chicago. After researching, I decided on the Thompson. I couldn't have picked a better hotel. We were treated amazingly by the front desk staff, room service, bell staff, and car driver. Great views from our window. Great location close to all of the best restaurants and bars in town. If you are interested in top of the line service with great amenities, this is the place for you. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melissa w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,042 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,616
    345
    56
    17
    8
See reviews for
359
847
77
423
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
new york city
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

I love design, but not when it comes with aggravation of things that doesn't work. The Thompson Chicago has a perfect combination of design, common sense and efficiency. The strong masculine decor with some soft touches really worked for me. The rooms are fantastic, great sheets with all the little details that are great, USB ports, night lights etc. The staff are efficient, (except for when I arrived early, my room wasn't ready, the receptionist told me that she will call as soon as it was, but she didn't call, I called 5 hours later). At any rate, the location is fantastic, the restaurant's breakfast is superb, the italian breakfast, the kouign amman pastry, whipped ricotta and honey, not the usual fare, but simply excellent.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gnewey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Great hotel in a great location. Sophisticated style, refined elegance. Stay here for 4 nights recently and really enjoyed all aspects of the hotel. The lobby was great, attached restaurant was trendy and delicious, and the rooms were very comfortable. Staff was amazing.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santorini, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

i cant imagine staying anyplace other than the thompson hotel. ive recently discovered this hidden gem. from the beautiful lobby and bar to the pleasant room, i was completely satisfied with my stay. the hotel's location was perfect, lots of nice restaurants, nightclubs, bars and shops to keep you busy.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Afefe I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Everything about our weekend stay was perfect. Gorgeous room, fabulous"corner view of Lake and city. Close to rush St, North Michigan Avenue. Our deal included parking and a $30 credit top use in the hotel.
Extremely helpful staff. Beautiful facility. Can't wait to visit again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rick m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Lovely, comfortable, flawless. Super-competent, engaging staff. Excellent bar and restaurant (try an Old Fashioned made with rye). Perfect place for a short getaway, but nice for business, too. Ask for room on high floor....lakeside or city view each have advantages, so take either. We had lake view, and it was lovely to awake to sunrise over the lake, but sunset over the city is great, too. And it is a great value to top it all off. Would go back back again anytime.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We recently stayed at the Thompson because of a Gilt promotion. I am so glad we did because there are always so many new hotels in the city. I knew it had a primo location but what a pleasant surprize - from the friendly doormen, personable front desk staff, very spacious guest rooms, amazing restaurant, and finally complimentary hotel car - we couldn't have asked for a better experience!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Betty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#12 of 190 in Chicago
2,808 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 190 in Chicago
2,347 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 190 in Chicago
1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel

Property: Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Address: 21 E. Bellevue Place, Chicago, IL 60611-1174
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine your own luxe studio in the skies overlooking the hip Gold Coast neighborhood's leafy streets, with sweeping floor-to-ceiling vistas of the Chicago skyline and Great Lake waterscape daring you to look away. Parking available for additional fee per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Prestigia, HotelPower, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TravelUp, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing