We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Chicago "home" away from home!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Ranked #5 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Our Chicago "home" away from home!”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We were so happy to be back at the Thompson Hotel and see so many familiar, friendly faces! Amela, Mark, Gary and Sam are always helpful, with a smile on their face. These are truly amazing employees, and the hotel wouldn't be the same without them. I always make my reservation for my next stay (hopefully before I checkout from current visit), with Amela. This eliminates any problems I've had with Central Reservations in the past. Mark has handled many situations for us, from dinner to drugstore needs. Gary and Sam are just great men, who run a tight ship. They are the first impression of the Thompson Hotel Chicago, and what a great impression they present! They handle your luggage, car, hail cabs, give directions, assist you in many ways, in the freezing cold, snow, ice, or the blistering heat, all with a smile on their faces. All of these individuals are five star plus plus! The only slight negative: the lobby needs a wind break! It is freezing. Also, in the bathroom: we didn't really care for the fixed shower head and would have liked more counter space.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,091 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,654
    352
    58
    17
    10
See reviews for
369
873
77
430
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bonita Springs, Florida
1 review
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Fabulous lobby and bar. Room was also very comfortable and great linens. For such a large bathroom, the lack of counter space is appalling. No place to put toiletries (even the toilet top was blocked by a towel rack, which seemed very odd) so I had to keep all my stuff in a bag on the floor. The hook for a robe was at chest level allowing it to drag on floor when hung. Something as simple as a small cart in the bathroom like I have seen at the Mercer in NYC would go a long way towards solving this rather irritating problem. I also think the hotel is going to find many showers with running water since the on/off valve needs to be precisely and exactly pointed downward, otherwise, the shower and/or hand held device will continue flowing. Overall, the renovations were a much needed improvement and would definitely recommend as I am convinced that they will correct the bathroom issue since it will be very difficult to ignore.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Just recently reopened after being completely renovated. I can't think of anything they don't offer that I need. The staff was friendly from the moment we arrived. One of the valets even knew of the college I attended by the shirt I was wearing....(not too shabby since it is a small, private school far from downtown Chicago.

Slight European feel to the remodeling. The modern touch works. Rooms are large and nicely furnished. Not your average "Bed & Desk" room. The bathrooms are spacious. I'm not a coffee drinker but my wife is and said the morning selection of coffee & tea was great. Wi-Fi was included and worked great.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drlooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2013

My husband and I wanted a weekend away and chose the Thompson Hotel for something different. We have stayed at numerous 4 and 5 star hotels downtown but wanted something smaller and quaint...which it was. The staff were very accommodating and extremely friendly (especially Gary, the stationed at the front door..basically runs the show and is hilarious!). Walking into the hotel you are immediately taken to a relaxed urban oasis but not stuffy at all, the fireplace, though very contemporary, made me feel welcomed and at home. No lines at checkin which was great...we booked a suite, which had corner views of city on the 16th floor. It did not look like the pics on website due to renovations, where they took down the partition wall, which gave the room a more open concept feel. The major drawbacks were: NO COFFEE Machine in room, no ice stations on floors, you had to call for ice and very limited room service options. These are "must haves" for us, so although we were impressed by decor, staff and amazing bathtub...we will continue trying new locations in the future. If you can sue without coffee ice and room service selection then this is an amazing hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelTheWorld1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

My partner and I stayed at this hotel for a night to spend some time alone downtown during our stay with my family in the suburbs for the holiday. I chose it because I had previously lived in the area, and was reminded again during this stay that this is seriously the BEST location downtown. Steps away from the best shopping in the city, down the street from some wonderful restaurants (Luxe Bar was my go-to for years, Carmines and Rosebud also delicious, Starbucks and Corner Bakery close for quick coffee, etc).

Anyway, we had to wait a bit upon check in because the room wasn't ready, but they brought up some waters and treats and a lovely note which appeased even my grumpy partner. The room was amazing, the bed was large and comfy, everything was immaculately clean, the bathroom was very cool, the amenities were very generous and good quality - in general, we were sorry to leave. We didn't check out the restaurant/bar but they looked and smelled good. Small complaints were that the gym was adequate, but pretty spartan considering how nice the hotel is, and that there is no subsidized parking. There is no street parking in the area, and they tried to charge $60 bucks (!!!!) for overnight valet parking, which is absolutely nuts. There are 2 garages that are like 1/2 block away that are $45 - we were kind of annoyed that there wasn't some % off for staying at the hotel.

Were were also both obsessed with the decor - fits that perfect niche of modern but also cozy. I've stayed at a lot of the local hotels in the city over the years, and while it doesn't have the old-school luxury of the Peninsula, this is still my new favorite.

Room Tip: Area can get sort of loud at night so pick a higher floor just in case.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

The staff is wonderful - very welcoming and service oriented. The locale couldn't be better for shopping, eating, walking, and just enjoying the city. Can't wait to return! The new interior is very
nice as well.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Newly renovated hotel offers everything you need with friendly & kind service. The modern touch is warm yet classy. The rooms are surprisingly spacious and the bathrooms have plenty of space along with fabulous showers. Enjoy a very nice selection of coffee & tea in the mornings as well as the complimentary car service. Be sure to know car service times as it's not available 24/7.
The location is awesome!! You're in the heart of everything!! Tavern on rush and many other bars, restaurants & shops within walking distance as well as the start of the magnificent mile. The concierge is full of suggestions so be sure to ask for recommendations if you need one.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank i2smile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#11 of 190 in Chicago
2,835 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 190 in Chicago
2,394 reviews
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 190 in Chicago
1,488 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel

Property: Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Address: 21 E. Bellevue Place, Chicago, IL 60611-1174
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine your own luxe studio in the skies overlooking the hip Gold Coast neighborhood's leafy streets, with sweeping floor-to-ceiling vistas of the Chicago skyline and Great Lake waterscape daring you to look away. Parking available for additional fee per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, TravelUp, Cancelon, Prestigia, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing