We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum”

Lawry's The Prime Rib
Reserve with OpenTable
Lawry's The Prime Rib is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #49 of 9,548 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $55 - $75
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Magnificent Mile
Cross street: Ontario and Rush Streets
Transit: Easy Access from Michigan Avenue CTA Bus Stops. CTA Red Line stops are conveniently located within blocks of our restaurant at Grand/State and Chicago/State.
Description: A Chicago treasure since 1974, Lawry's The Prime Rib is located in the heart of the Magnificent Mile. It occupies the 1890's McCormick Mansion that became the renowned Kungsholm Puppet Theatre. Enjoy the rich history, comfortable elegance and unique menu featuring our famous Roasted Prime Ribs of Beef served tableside from gleaming silver carts. Expect great tradition, warm hospitality and award-winning dining in this Windy City landmark.
Ballwin, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Yum”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Been going there for years and it is still GREAT. You can get your choice of meat and sides are so good, enough to share.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hauptkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    567
    242
    103
    36
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“wicus13”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Has maintained very good service and food over the years.Could be a bit to big now and crowded at times

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wicus13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
236 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“The best Prime Rib”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Since I was having knee surgery the morning of the 1/31 I decided to treat myslef to a great meal the night before! I hadn't been to Lawry's in a while so I went the Prime Rib route. If you have never been to Lawry's you must go. The service is 1st class and the food is out of this world! I ordered the, you guessed it, prime rib dinner. The server asked me if I'd like to add some veggies and I asked her how much she said $8.99. I asked what else could I add on she said a lobster tail for $14.99. I said that is a no brainer and got the tail! Of course the prime rib was fantastic but the lobster was equally dilicious! I have never had a bad meal at Lawry's!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Travlinguy517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“OK club sanwich”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Very plesant surrounding, steeped in history, service was very good but feel the staek sandwiches we had were not all that..

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crozieram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.W.A.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I'm in the business and it doesn't get much better than this.”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

This is some of the best Prime Rib you will ever eat.
Pricey, but what isn't in Chi town?
Very up scale decor, and like most places in chicago, reservations really don't mean much.

Spun salad excellent, sides excellent, Prime Rib beyond excellent. I like the beef bowl cut

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FoodieFreak479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lawry's The Prime Rib also viewed

 

Been to Lawry's The Prime Rib? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing