We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just great fun”
Review of Howl at the Moon

Howl at the Moon
Ranked #172 of 9,602 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Near North Side
Description: Ready to Howl, Chicago? Howl at the Moon is the #1 nightlife spot that’s keeping Chicago’s River North dancing! Part bar and part concert, Howl at the Moon creates a non-stop party with live music performed in a high-energy setting. This isn’t your average piano bar, Chicago. Get on the dance floor and join our talented musicians in rocking out to your favorite songs while trying our signature drinks! You’ll hear everything from pop to classic rock to hip-hop. It’s the best Chicago nightlife has to offer! Howl at the Moon’s energetic and interactive setting creates the perfect atmosphere for any type of special events in Chicago. We’re the live music bar that always throws a non-stop party. It doesn’t matter if you’re celebrating a bachelorette party, birthday party, or planning a corporate event, any group event at Howl at the Moon is guaranteed to make for a memorable night. It’s the most fun you’ll have at a dance bar in Chicago!
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just great fun”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

As corny as it can get. That is what makes Howling so much fun. The energy level in the place is exhilarating.you can't help but get swept up in the singing.
Our group was a little older than most of the crowd but they took us right along with the flow.
We had a ball.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    134
    53
    8
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The best piano bar I have ever been to!!!”
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

This place is awesome! Specially on a Friday or Saturday night. These are not just piano players; they are singers, harmonica players, guitarist, drums players aaaaaaaand they know all these crazy songs people are requesting. Service was good considering the amount of people these waiters have to fend off to make it to your table. All in all we had a blast. So good we went twice!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HyperGirl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A fun night Howling at the Moon”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Went to this venue on New years eve eve and had a good time. Very similar to the other establishments we have been to in other cities. It is fun to listen to the performers...we stayed for almost 6 hours and they never repeated a song. Thats pretty amazing to me. And of course as the night got later the crowd got rowdier which also added to the fun. We got an appetizer (the burrito nachos) and they were plentiful and tasty bar food. Drinks were fine. Always ask as they have drink specials every night. That night there were $20 pails of alcoholic fruity drink which I thought was a buy since there had to be at least 4 full drinks in it. The only negative I would have is that a larger dance floor would help the rambunctious party-goers release the excess energy that the booze and the music builds up inside. I always have a good time at the Howl!!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IndianaSteveO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Missing something to connect the crowd”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

The piano duels are nice and fun, you can hear some good music, but there is nothing that connect everybody as a dance floor. In case you're with a good group and want to hear some music, it could be an option, otherwise there are other options within the area.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rodrigo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chulmleigh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Never seen anything like it---- FANTASTIC”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Food good
2 grand pianos playing anything from beatles to Queen.
guitars/trumpet/drums also played by the most talented musicians. Every musician played every instument and also had lead vocials. What a great formular, what a great night out

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank TheProb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Howl at the Moon also viewed

 

Been to Howl at the Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing