We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice outdoor dinner”
Review of The Galway Arms

The Galway Arms
Ranked #811 of 9,668 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $7 - $31
Cuisines: Irish, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Lincoln Park
Description: Voted "Best Irish Pub" 4 years running! Come to Lincoln Park for our amazing food, drink and brunch. The grub at Galway Arms is authentic, fresh and delicious! Galway was carved out of two 90-year-old buildings on Clark Street, and the lived-in, weathered feel remains. With its two fireplaces, friendly staff and amazing dishes this is a great place to grab dinner and a beer. Come in to Galway Arms today!
Columbus, OH
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice outdoor dinner”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We happened upon The Galway Arms while looking for a place to eat dinner while exploring Chicago. The weather was nice so we ate outside on the large covered patio. My husband and I and 18-year-old nephew enjoyed Fish and chips, Shepards Pie, and Prata Milish, as well as a coke, lemonade, and rare-to-find pineapple juice. It was all very good and we had good service. Our bill totaled $56 (plus tip).

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 2ndchildhood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    29
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Worth, Florida, USA
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice Pub with Great Music!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Went on a Sunday night to hear traditional Irish music and it was great...the food and drinks were good too with the exception of the chicken pot pie which was undercooked...service was ok, but overall had a really nice evening.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jr43528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Take a trip to the Emerald Isle while in Chicago”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We had the pleasure of stumbling upon this grand establishment on our recent trip to Chicago. It is tastefully decorated, not overbearing. There are many "Irish" themed restaurants out there that smother you with their pseudo Irishness. This isn't one of them. Built in 2 century old townhouses, it has plenty of dark wood & old brick, but minus the usual kitsch. In addition to the ambiance, there is a trmendous selection of beers! The menu is concise with the usual fare but also more traditional Irish dishes. We highly recommend the Lamb Shanks. The meat was extremely flavorful & "fork" tender. Nicely sized portion as well. Try the cheese plate as an appetizer, delicious! Overall, great experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food with a fantastic atmosphere!”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stopped in for a few drinks and appetizers one chilly evening. We enjoyed the good service and great food. Looking forward to going back and experiencing the patio again on a nice warm summer evening.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank cntrygrl127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Place for a Pint or Casual Late Dinner”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I found Galway Arms while wondering Lincoln Park in search of a place that still served food around 10 at night. The kitchen is open until midnight. The beer list is a book that includes micro-brew selections from around the US. The menu is hearty pub fare. I recommend the steak sandwich. The service is attentive and friendly.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank rychlost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Galway Arms also viewed

 

Been to The Galway Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing