We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BRILLANT”
Review of The Galway Arms

The Galway Arms
Ranked #757 of 9,531 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $7 - $31
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Lincoln Park
Description: Voted "Best Irish Pub" 4 years running! Come to Lincoln Park for our amazing food, drink and brunch. The grub at Galway Arms is authentic, fresh and delicious! Galway was carved out of two 90-year-old buildings on Clark Street, and the lived-in, weathered feel remains. With its two fireplaces, friendly staff and amazing dishes this is a great place to grab dinner and a beer. Come in to Galway Arms today!
LaGrange
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BRILLANT”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

BRILLANT atmosphere and staff. Grand music session on Sunday nights.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank English730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    28
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The Embrace of the Galway Arms”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Just made my second trip to the Galway Arms, which features live Traditional Irish Music on Sunday nights. Love how the parking fees only run until 9PM on the city streets on Sunday nights...
Anyway, the Arms is an immensely comfortable place. Authentic architectural and decor touches throughout, inviting fireplace (which wasn't lit at the time due to the proximity of the musicians and their fiddles), real Guinness, Smithwicks and the like available at the bar. The owner and barman, Terry and Barry respectively, are fine Irish hosts. The appetizers are quite acceptable and I have heard great things about the rest of the menu.
The best element, to me, is the friendly atmosphere. It never feels like I am there alone; you're personally very welcome the moment you enter. Service is patchy, when the place is very busy, but always friendly and considerate. There's always room at the bar when your waitress is extra busy, and it never feels like it's any trouble to shoulder up rather than wait to be tended at the table.
If you love the feel of Ireland, you will want to wrap yourself up in some Galway Arms.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RBerkowitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
609 reviews
442 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 395 helpful votes
“Irish Atmosphere and Hospitality Pervades Galway Arms”
Reviewed February 12, 2012

This is a really welcoming Irish Bar in Lincoln Park on Clark Street not far north of Fullerton. The food here is kind of average, but you go here for the wonderful beer selection which features a page of draft choices and as many choices for bottles. We were there Friday night for the fish and chips special, which features unlimited fish refills for around $10. We drank Radeberger on draft, imagine this formerly East German beer in an Irish bar in Chicago on draft! On top of this they have a great selection of Irish brews and whiskeys, and a page of single malts with my fave Clynelish, hard to find single malt. The atmosphere in the bar area is absolutely like being in Ireland and the look is Dublin. It just smacks of sit back, have a few brews, eat some Irish Stew or Bangers and Mash and relax. Folks are friendly and the crowd is mixed made up of all ages and ethnicities. The fireplace in the bar area invites kicking back, and soccer plays on the tv's which are unobtrusive and the crowd just has a good time. Great place.
ZB

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank zabriskibound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level Contributor
157 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good Value Food That Sticks to Your Ribs”
Reviewed December 17, 2011

We met up with family at the The Galway Arms in Chicago, not far from the Victory Gardens Theater where we were going to see a show. The pub has small rooms for dining and our booth was near the fireplace. It has a very warm and welcoming atmosphere. They were serving a very fine selection of Christmas beers. I had the Shepherd's Pie, a hearty portion of ground sirloin with peas and carrots topped with a nice mound of mashed potatoes. You can't complain that you don't get enough to eat. Our waitress was very accomodating. My wife and daughter could not make up their mind about a Malbec, so the waitress brought a sample of each for them to taste. My daughter had the corned beef and cabbage and loved it. The four of us with drinks and tip came to about $35 each.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RexGermanorium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
Reviewed June 17, 2011

This is a neighboor favorite of ours. My sweetie and I go on Fridays in the winter to sit by the fireplace, eat fish & chips and have a cold beer as we unwind after the week. In the summer the outdoor covered patio is a great place to sip a drink, watch a game and relax. The food is a couple of steps above bar food and they have a nice selection of beer.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SherryinChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Galway Arms also viewed

 

Been to The Galway Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing