We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great asian cuisine”

Big Bowl Chinese and Thai
Reserve with OpenTable
Big Bowl Chinese and Thai is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #121 of 9,494 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Near North Side
Cross street: Ohio & Rush
Transit: The red line stops at Grand and State which is only a few minute walk to Big Bowl.
Description: Great food and even better Ginger Ale!!!
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
420 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Great asian cuisine”
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant is very close to Michigan Avenue just a short stroll up Ohio Avenue. Service was quick and attentive. Food was excellent especially stir fry dishes. Looks like an Asian restaurant inside . Highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SharonB231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    261
    67
    19
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great fresh food”
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Food and service were great and the cost for a downtown Chicago dinner was reasonable, $20 for appetizer and stir fry bowl. Best to look over the menu on trip advisor before arriving. Makes ordering much simpler.

Helpful?
Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waimea, Hawaii
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Asian food place filled with non Asians”
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Curry was good but their pho was not authentic. Padthai was so so. They have good interior and interesting stir fries. We were ignored by the hostess when entering the restaurant even though we had a reservation. She was able to "see" only the tall white man behind us. Then we still had to wait standing for 15 minutes for our table to become available. This entry experience set the negative tone in general. If you want authentic Asian food experience, don't go to this place. If you want to enjoy a night out with drinks and Asian food and if you are a tall white person, you might like this place.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 96720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West chester OH
Level Contributor
75 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“great lunch”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Walked past and decided to drop in for lunch. Food was terrific, lots of choices, Thai and Chinese. We both had Chinese dishes and they were excellent. Plenty of food even with the lunch portion. Fun drinks too, had the Strawberry honey sangria which was light enough for a lunch drink with the meal. Give it a try.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank niamb12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Ohio
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Really Good!”
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

I use Trip Advisor when traveling to find restaurants and when preparing for our family trip to Chicago, I read about this restaurant (and many others). Our first night in Chicago, we were walking in the city, and we came upon the Big Bowl. Having read good reviews, we decided to try it. Our food, the atmosphere, and our server, Dion, were all really good. Our family of four ordered the potstickers, beef and noodles, a spicy chicken dish, and salmon. We would recommend this restaurant and would eat there again.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank kathleenlesnerhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Bowl Chinese and Thai also viewed

 

Been to Big Bowl Chinese and Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing