We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yum”

Big Bowl Chinese and Thai
Reserve with OpenTable
Big Bowl Chinese and Thai is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #121 of 9,494 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Near North Side
Cross street: Ohio & Rush
Transit: The red line stops at Grand and State which is only a few minute walk to Big Bowl.
Description: Great food and even better Ginger Ale!!!
australian
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Yum”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We didn't indulge in the stirfry choices as we just wanted something light and easy. Had an assortment of dumplings, rice paper rolls and the chicken in lettuce leaves.( sang choy bau?) All the food was delicious - service friendly and prompt. Prices easy. The Pomegranate and ginger ale cocktail was superb - went back for seconds - went really well with the food!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yummyyummyA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    261
    67
    19
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Petaluma, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

All I can say is their homemade ginger ale is holy water. Great selection of Thai and Chinese dishes. Decor is nice, great staff. Excellent pricing too.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank milosmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

What a great place for Thai and Asian cuisine. I had the make your own bowl with yellow curry that was the best Thai sauce I've had in a long time. Hip place. Nice vibe!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FussyArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I had a vegetable and tofu pad thai which was delicious. There was some diced fennel (I think) which I've never had in a pad thai before and made it quite interesting. The service was speedy and friendly, and not over-bearing.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yevs19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
182 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great service and Good Asian Food”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

The service was just right! We were seated almost immediately, and just when we finished ready the drink menu, our waiter appeared to take our order. His positive energy was refreshing. The ambiance is awesome, the service exceptional, and the "presence" of the staff was pleasant. When we needed something, the staff "magically" appeared, and when we didn't need anything, they didn't hover! Impressive timing. I REALLY appreciated the freshness of the ingredients. They make a great effort to use local produce and the fresh vegetables are awesome! The food was good, a tad bit heavy on the oil (we had a stir-fried dish), and the portions were almost too large. This is a Chinese and Thai restaurant, although the menu seemed to be predominately Chinese. My only issue is their Chinese spices spill over into the Thai dishes, which detracts from the unique juxtaposition of Thai flavors and spices.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CharlieCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Bowl Chinese and Thai also viewed

 

Been to Big Bowl Chinese and Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing