We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"One of Chicago's best Italian Restaurants"”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Italian Village

Italian Village
Ranked #133 of 9,493 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Downtown / The Loop
Description: Three restaurants in one historic building, the Italian Village is home to The Village, La Cantina Chophouse and Vivere. All three have their own chef and make their own way, each catering to a different restaurant experience. Whichever experience you choose, you can't go wrong. Our 35,000-bottle wine collection fills hearts with joy and our waitstaff, many of them with us for decades, ensure your dining experience here at the Italian Village is memorable. We treat you like family!
Tinley Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“"One of Chicago's best Italian Restaurants"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

I've never been disappointed when I've eaten here. The menu has something for everyone. My vegetarian friends can find many dishes that are meatless. With several dining rooms you usually don't have a long wait for a table. For it's "One of Chicago's best Italian Restaurants."

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    420
    329
    153
    63
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Not very Italian”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Kind of a pleasant place, but very ordinary Americanized Italian food. Service usually pretty good. Best thing about it is its location and its reasonableness in price. If you want a serious Italian meal, go downstairs to Vivere.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank engprof_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good food, extremely busy!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

I should point out that we didn't book a table, so we were lucky to get a table at all. However, we were disappointed that we had to sit right next to a busy part of the restaurant where the waiters/waitresses collected cutlery, napkins, etc. As a result, our romantic meal was somewhat spoiled. However, the food was excellent, if a little pricey.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Will23C1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wonder Lake
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“was wonderful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were seated promptly and the food was great. The service was perfect, not too much not too little. We were satisfied when we left and being as we were going to the theatre it was nice not having to worry about timely service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ob1deb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“good food & reasonable prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We ate dinner here before attending one of the broadway in chicago shows. The food was simple Italian style food. It was very tasty and reasonably priced, especially for downtown Chicago. It is also conveniently located to all the theaters in the area. They do not accept reservations for small parties so get there early before the show.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank busy2bme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Italian Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing