We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of Houlihan's - CLOSED

Houlihan's
Price range: $11 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown / The Loop
Description: Forget 'casual dining.' That's an industry term so out of touch with how consumers eat and drink today. For premium quality and style; fare that's at times familiar and other times adventurous and a laid-back modern setting, Houlihan's is a true original.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

The breakfast is a really good deal. You pay $ 9.99 and can choose as much as you like from a buffet. The food is ok, not the best I've ever had, but you can't expect more from a ten dollar buffet. We also enjoyed that there were healthy options as well, like fruit, yogurt and granola. Definitely a great option for breakfast.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank vgdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    131
    68
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Breakfast buffet”
Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

Great breakfast buffet Great price. Healthy options as well. Hard to find server for refills/ remove dirt dishes but for the price and quality it was totally worth waiting for refills

Helpful?
Thank Smhknobbies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ate here twice - supper and breakfast”
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

After a couple of hours driving around looking for a place to park, it was nice to walk into this restaurant and have a nicely priced meal. The restaurant was clean and all of the staff was quick to keep drinks filled and tables cleared. The food came quickly and was delicious.

They had posters advertising a breakfast buffet so we returned the next morning for this. They had fresh fruit, an omlet/egg station for requests made to order, pancakes, wagfles, cereal, biscuits and gravy, bacon, sausage, and more. It was an exceptional feast for the price.

If we return to this area, we will eat here again!

Helpful?
Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

I recently visited Chicago and stumbled upon Houlihan's on the last day of my visit. We were searching for breakfast options in the city since our flight wasn't until 1:55pm. We lucked out and noticed a sign advertising a breakfast buffet for $9.99. The price was hard to believe so we decided to check it out. It was true and I was very impressed with the breakfast options at that price - especially the omelette station. I was doing a low-carb diet at the time so I really appreciated the eggs and meat that were available. Our server was great - he checked on us several times to ask if we needed anything.

Would definitely recommend this place as a breakfast option. Unfortunately, I didn't have a chance to sample food from the lunch or dinner menu.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Queen_City_Chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Lenox, Illinois
Level Contributor
314 reviews
238 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Walk right by this one”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Normally, I LOVE Houlihans menu and food, but I have visited this Houlihans twice and have been disappointed both times. First, this restaurant has a limited menu compared to other Houlihans that I have visited. The $5.25 potato soup tasted like pureed potatoes and lacked flavor and it was in a cup and not bowl. The place is very dark inside so take a flashlight for the menu. I thought it was overpriced for the quality of food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teach3v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing