We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true treat for special occasions”
Review of The Capital Grille

The Capital Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
The Capital Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 9,668 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $60 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Streeterville
Cross street: Ontario
Description: You are cordially invited to join us for an evening or afternoon of relaxed elegance and exceptional cuisine. Our impressive menu of nationally renowned dry aged steaks and the freshest of seafood will ignite your culinary imagination as our award-winning wine list of more than 5,000 bottles awakens your inner sommelier. And as our gracious, knowledgeable servers delight you with their uncanny ability to anticipate your every need, you’ll experience firsthand why the American Culinary Federation recently bestowed upon us their “Achievement of Excellence Award.” Whether you’re celebrating a special occasion or hosting a business luncheon or dinner, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private dining event. Our event planning staff has extensive experience and the ideal materials to work with—a capital setting, distinctive food and unmatched service. Located one block east of Michigan Avenue at the corner of Ontario.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A true treat for special occasions”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Visited this Chicago location in February (brrrrr!) but since it was adjacent to our hotel (Hyatt on Magnificent Mile....also very nice) AND it was Restaurant Week, it was ALL GOOD! Really, really good, actually! The four course dinner was $33 worth of WOW. I ordered the Caesar Salad, Lobster Mac and Cheese, 8 ounce filet, and chocolate flourless torte. It was every bit of excellent. And our waiter was phenomenal! Can't rave enough. I know their regular menu is quite pricey, but for a special occasion, it would be worth it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveling-Texan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    521
    173
    42
    19
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Stockton, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Best burger in Chicago!”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Ya, it's $16.00. You get what you pay for and this is that good. Service was right on and even though we were in the dining room, a burger was no problem. My wife loved the swordfish.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ted D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Never Fails to Impress”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

This is one of our favorite restaurants, we visit one every time we travel. We went for lunch after a morning of visiting the museum of natural history. I had the seared tuna (as I do every time I dine here) and my fiancé had the $15 lunch special with the tenderloin sliders and still says it was one of the best lunches he has ever had.
If you appreciate good service and attention to detail, the Capital Grille is for you.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank IslandGirl_345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joliet, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Best the City has to Offer”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I have visited Capital Grille multiple times. Their dry-aged beef is fantastic. Their service is the best you will receive. They have an inexpensive corking fee ($15) and welcome you to bring in your own bottle of wine. The dining room is impeccably designed and decorated. It is on the pricey side but if you enjoy fine dining, it is well worth every dollar.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank apstevens6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

As the Flagship Brand for the Darden Resturant Group, The Capital Grille is always an outstanding choice, relying upon the expertise and compentance of the local General Manager and staff. Since all Capital Grille's offer the same menu and dinning experience, it is up to the local manager to maintain the consistent quality and excellent service of the CG brand.

The CG meets and exceeded those expectations on this particular visit. Reservation was waiting for our arrival and promptly seated, extra bonus, a window seat. Wait staff could not have been more helpful, prompt and efficient. Nothing was "rushed", but everything was prompt, drinks, dinner, etc.

This particular week was "resturant week" in Chicago, and this CG had excellent specials to participate. The filets were done perfect. CG offers only top grade dry aged beef, so cooking has to be spot-on, and in this case it was. Waiter was extremely knowledgeable about wine pairings (and did his job of testing the customer as to what price point I was comfortable with, but since this wasn't my first rodeo, I know were in the listing the best values are).

If you a ready for this level of dining, then the CG Downtown Chicago is an excellent choice.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RDGUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Capital Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing