We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Meatless Restaurant!”
Review of The Chicago Diner

The Chicago Diner
Ranked #181 of 9,668 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner
Description: April 2, 1983. In a city known for meat packing & hog butchering, a brave pair of optimistic vegetarians opened a ground breaking meat free eatery called The Chicago Diner. Since then, co-owners Mickey Hornick & Jo Kaucher, have built a reputation for wowing customers with unique and innovative dishes, changing minds about “The Way a Diner Should Be”. Eventually, they settled on the charming slog
Restaurant details
Description: April 2, 1983. In a city known for meat packing & hog butchering, a brave pair of optimistic vegetarians opened a ground breaking meat free eatery called The Chicago Diner. Since then, co-owners Mickey Hornick & Jo Kaucher, have built a reputation for wowing customers with unique and innovative dishes, changing minds about “The Way a Diner Should Be”. Eventually, they settled on the charming slog
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Delicious Meatless Restaurant!”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Loved the ambiance of this place. Great location, excellent selection and their veggie burger is to die for. Not your typical boca burger-- you can tell they put a lot of time and crafting into their food. Healthy but tastes just as good and is just as filling as other diners.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank goldblerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    19
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Yum.”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Had the Reuben sandwich on the recommendation of other travellers...so good. I recommend going more than once if you are into veggie food. I think it is a vegetarian icon!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Earthy_Feet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food, veg or not”
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Today we are at Chicago Diner during a quick trip to Chicago. This place, and the Art Institute of Chicago, was on our destination list. We arrived around brunch on Sunday ready for anything. The food was just as good as I had hoped. There were so many creative choices on the menu it took a while to choose so the honest waiter helped is make up our minds. Easy going service and atmosphere. We are road tripping here again in 2 weeks an will definitely be coming back.

Helpful?
1 Thank GarfinkelFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I really miss The Chicago Diner”
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

The country fried steak dinner was just like the real deal. Great atmosphere and the employees are having fun too. Overall, this vegan restaurant might be the best in the nation.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Glen-in-DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service, total experience”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I've eaten at the Chicago Diner on Halsted numerous times over the years, and always enjoyed the food, the careful service and the ambience. The visit to Logan Square was the first, and I'll definitely return. The Chicago Diner's dedication to delicious, health-conscious food for us vegans and vegetarians is topped only by the creativity and broad range of choices. Wine and cocktails aren't their strong suit, but that's fine; Chicago Diner doesn't focus on making money from their alcohol. And, if you want to bring your own wine, they only charge $10 corking fee, which is very reasonable.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MD060703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Chicago Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing