We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic”
Review of Lao Sze Chuan

Lao Sze Chuan
Get food delivered
Ranked #635 of 10,277 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Reviewed August 4, 2016 via mobile

Many of the clientele speak some dialetic of Chinese, so I presume this is the real deal. I enjoyed the jellyfish, Shanghai style, as an appetizer and the Kong Pau chicken, which in no way resembled the Kung Pow stuff on Chinese restaurant buffets. The service left something to be desired, but the waitress apologized, saying that they were "very busy." It was true.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

72 - 76 of 201 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2016

The mention of mayonnaise shrimp, crispy shrimp in a light mayo sauce (it has been called crispy shrimp lemon, too - but the preparation in the same) just sends my wife and I into a joyful mode. It is simple, with very fresh shrimp, lightly coated and fried quickly. We added mu shu beef, which was also quite good - it was so much, it provided a lunch for me the next day.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 324MichaelL324
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 23, 2016

Having lived in East Asia for several years, Lao Sze Chuan cooks the best hot food that you can get in the area, and it's quite reasonably priced. Spicy Boiled Beef is a must.

Date of visit: August 2015
Thank Travis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 1, 2016

On its front window under the restaurant's name is the line "The No. 1 Restaurant in the U.S." Although the Peking Duck was outstanding, the rest our dishes were about average except for the whole fish which had a metallic taste to it.

The staff was certainly responsive and the Tsing Tao beer was served as needed. Everyone was in great spirits (we had attended a wedding the day before) including the diners at other tables, many of whom appeared to be Chinese.

Even with aura of being beloved by Chicagoans, LSC did not measure up to its reputation. We don't know what restaurant is the #1 Chinese in the U.S. or in Chicago. Nevertheless, LSC should take a hard look or taste at how its current offerings come out of the kitchen. We had high expectations but were disappointed.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank yoshidax
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 11, 2016 via mobile

Chefs special dry chili chicken was amazingly spicy enough to make you sweat but not drink a gallon of milk while enjoying it. Paired well with a simple shrimp fried rice.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank wilson l
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travelers who viewed Lao Sze Chuan also viewed

 

Been to Lao Sze Chuan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.