We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good But Not #1 in the US”
Review of Lao Sze Chuan

Lao Sze Chuan
Get food delivered
Ranked #635 of 10,277 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Reviewed July 1, 2016

On its front window under the restaurant's name is the line "The No. 1 Restaurant in the U.S." Although the Peking Duck was outstanding, the rest our dishes were about average except for the whole fish which had a metallic taste to it.

The staff was certainly responsive and the Tsing Tao beer was served as needed. Everyone was in great spirits (we had attended a wedding the day before) including the diners at other tables, many of whom appeared to be Chinese.

Even with aura of being beloved by Chicagoans, LSC did not measure up to its reputation. We don't know what restaurant is the #1 Chinese in the U.S. or in Chicago. Nevertheless, LSC should take a hard look or taste at how its current offerings come out of the kitchen. We had high expectations but were disappointed.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank yoshidax
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

75 - 79 of 201 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2016 via mobile

Chefs special dry chili chicken was amazingly spicy enough to make you sweat but not drink a gallon of milk while enjoying it. Paired well with a simple shrimp fried rice.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank wilson l
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 27, 2016

Great food, better quality ingredients than most any Chinese restaurant and great value too. They have spicy food but many options that aren't and a lot of items you don't normally see at most Chinese restaurants.
The House Beef on hot platter, Don Don noodles, Chengdu dumplings, Tony's Chicken with three chilis are some of my favorites. Make sure try the super spicy cabbage that you get when you sit down. I never order the traditional items and always try different things.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 23, 2016

This restaurant, the original one in Chinatown, has had rave reviews for years, and truly is one of the top Chinese restaurants literally, in the world. Zagat and Michelin-rated, it is a smallish, hole in the wall place, with about 14 tables. So...most times, it is very crowded, especially on weekends. If you are lucky, you will get a good waitress that knows how to please you. We had a slow waitress that seemed overwhelmed or perhaps she was in-training. But, it's the food you want: superb Ma-Po Tofu, hot and spicy, crab rangoon, spring rolls, pork dumplings and excellent chicken fried rice. With that, I had a glass of ice water and two flasks of hot sake, and of course, the jasmine tea. For the more adventurous, there are dishes you can have them fine-tune for you in terms of heat and spice with an extensive menu of delights. They had a big Chinese fella at the door to tell folks the wait time to get in was over an hour. However, we timed it just right and got in right away. Never disappointing and worth every penny. Highly recommended for authentic Chinese, indeed! Enjoy!

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Italiangrandpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 7, 2016

This restaurant, as numerous signs on the walls will tell you, has won a lot of awards for their cooking. The style is Sichuan, a fresh mix of fiery and oil ingredients. If you’ve not a fan of heat then you might want to avoid this place, otherwise you’re in for a treat.

I ordered the Lalala Chicken. Boy, was it hot! But the heat didn’t overwhelm any of the other flavors; rather it complemented them quite nicely. The end result was a delicious medley of taste that all came together into a wonderful meal. Give this place a try; you’ll be glad you did.

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank DarkRoads
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travelers who viewed Lao Sze Chuan also viewed

 

Been to Lao Sze Chuan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.