We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“give it a very good for the food & service....atmosphere is from the 50s....”
Review of Won Kow Restaurant

Won Kow Restaurant
Ranked #992 of 9,531 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Level Contributor
235 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“give it a very good for the food & service....atmosphere is from the 50s....”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Amazing mostly americanized chinese food....although the bbq pork is really sweet and good....& some dim sum looks pretty authentic....HUGE and I mean HUGE portions for 70s prices....ie THREE ginormous egg foo young for under six bucks....and dinner entrees starting at under 8....lunch is a real steal....but the atmosphere is very tired and sad and the bathrooms are basicially gross---which usually is a deal breaker for me...but the service and yummy chow keeps me going back....as does the 3 hr parking for 2 bucks IN CHICAGO!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flizzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    35
    6
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Ok”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

It's just regular fast food. Not bad. Glad I tried it. Don't have to do it again. Stay away from the home made ginger ale, it has so much ginger, it tastes spicy.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank LCV_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
813 reviews
366 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 336 helpful votes
“Good Dim Sum, Dated Decor”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Won Kow is a second story restaurant in Chicago's Chinatown. I went to it after being turned away by another nearby crowded dim sum restaurant. Decor is extremely dated and furniture is shabby. But I was served very good dim sum by friendly and attentive waitresses. Prices are very good, $1.95 and $2.25 for very generous portions of freshly cooked dim sum. No rolling carts; only a menu that you can order from. I can live with the decor given the quality of the dim sum and the friendly service.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank areview28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Went for a late lunch while visiting Chinatown. Expected more from Chicago Chinatown's oldest restaurant. Entrance and decor was shabby, single fresh fish tank was collapsing and contained only two sad looking crabs and menu choices and food were just average. In contrast with what our guidebook said, clientele was all Caucasian, not Asian, and appeared to be mostly tourists. Hmmm, perhaps all misled by the same guidebook? Nothing special and nothing as good as I would expect in a big city Chinatown. Will try elsewhere next time.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank emkolb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Been going for 45 years”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

This place was first introduced to me when we lived in Westchester in 1967. While the decor is still mostly intact, the food and service are great. If your looking for old fashioned Chinese food, this is the place. Get their famous flaming drinks.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Don Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Won Kow Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Won Kow Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing