We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good dim sum”

The Phoenix Restaurant
Ranked #703 of 9,544 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $0 - $28
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
339 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Good dim sum”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I have had better dim sum, but this was good enough. The shanghai dumplings (with soupy inside) were good as were the steamed bbq buns and the tofu. Several items were not as warm as I would prefer.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank friendlyinsomniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    74
    24
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
422 reviews
281 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Highly variable”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I have eaten here a number of times, and have had both outstanding meals and a couple that weren't very good. I wish hat it was more consistent.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KingofThreePutts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Sign Outside Says "Phoenix Dim Sum Restaurant" and it certainly is one”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The sun raising and sets at The Phoenix on dim sum, now including evenings and there is enough interest to fill two large rooms at most times. The wait for a table can be long in prime time on weekends but generally well under an hour. Come early. There is no point in describing any of the scores of items that are available on the moving carts that are constantly circulating. But it is worth mentioning that any item on the large list on every table is available on request from one of the many waiters and captains. Be prepared to be venturous when deciding on what items to get because you cannot rely on most of the "pushers" to provide much in the way of description. Enjoy and prepare to leave having happily overeaten.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
329 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“As Close to Hong Kong Dim Sum as You Will Find”
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Having lived in Hong Kong for more than a decade, our food loving Midwestern family fell in love with the taste, vibrant social atmosphere, roaming carts of dim sum and the clatter of dishes present in Hong Kong's best dim sum eateries. All of that is present at this restaurant. The restaurant is clean, abuzz with activity and, most important of all,the fresh and tasty dim sum is world class. The selection is comprehensive and diverse. An extra treat is the tea shop adjacent to the restaurant's street level interest. A great selection of flavored and unflavored teas for enjoyment on the ride home.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WARSAWRUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Shores, Indiana
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“YOU CANNOT COME ONCE!!!”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Look! A few tips:
1. On a Saturday or Sunday, PLEASE go before say 10:30 AM in order to get a table and just ENJOY!! Once the crowds start, the wait could reach more like 30-45 minutes! We try to get there BEFORE 10AM and have never had a problem.
2. Parking is always a problem, but if you get there EARLY then no real problem in parking, either on the street or across the street.
3. In Chicago, the idiots have rented all of the parking in Chicago to some political company that requires you to go to a box, put in $$ or a CC and select how long you want to park! You pay and get a TICKET, which you need to put on in the car! So be sure you do that!
4. THE DIM SUM at PHOENIX is to DIE FOR!!! NO OTHER CHINA TOWN RESTAURANT can compete against PHOENIX, it is the best, hands down!!! That is why you have to get there before 10:30 AM on the weekend!
5. Now, on other days, really no problem! Why? My GF likes the CART SERVICE, which means they keep going around with carts of various DIM SUM stuff and you select from the cart! I, in the crazy state that I am like to sit down and just tell them what I want!!! She on the other side likes the suprise element, as to what is next!
6. LOOK! From SHRIMP CREPE, SHRIMP ROLL, etc, etc, you CANNOT go wrong at the Phoenix!! We also love the Spring Rolls, BBQ Pork Crepe, Beef Crepe, but the best is the SHRIMP CREPE, especially with the sauces!!!!
7. The Bar is open and you can order a real Chinese BEER or they always give you TEA!!! Please remember that you can ask for FORKS and stuff, and for SOY SAUCE for you table!!\
Just a great place and I give it a 10 out of 10!!! Other Dim Sum places in China Town are great, but not SUPERIOR!!! This one is!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Phoenix Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Phoenix Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing