We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wine Cellar”

The Chicago Firehouse - REOPENED
Price range: $20 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: South Loop
Cross street: 14th Street
Transit: Michigan Avenue Bus - #4, #3, #1, #12 CTA Red Line Train, CTA Orange Line Train, CTA Green Line Train - Roosevelt stop
Bettendorf, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wine Cellar”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We recently had dinner at CFH and were seated in the Wine Cellar, a small space with no windows in the basement of the restaurant. I thought it was cozy and enjoyed the decorations, but my wife was not a fan. The food was once again perfectly prepared and presented. The steak was cooked just as I ordered and the brussels sprouts were a perfect side. Our waiter was very knowledgeable and made very helpful wine recommendations. We plan to return for dinner again, hopefully upstairs.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fluidkarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    74
    31
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Historic FireHouse makes a Charming Restaurant”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Great atmosphere, great service, and great food.

Each of us enjoyed our selections, including salmon, steak, and a burger. One of the most memorable experiences of our trip to Chicago was the "special" lobster macaroni and cheese--if you have an opportunity, you must try! There is a full bar, and television (I promise this didn't take away from the warm atmosphere). We enjoyed dinner and dessert while watching the Ravens win the game to advance to the Super Bowl.

Try the Lobster Mac&Cheese and Follow the The Chicago Firehouse Restaurant on Twitter @FirehouseRstrnt

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank melissa c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Love the authentic firehouse venue-pole included! Ambiance was cozy and warm, of course!”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Can't beat the ambiance at this cozy south Michigan Avenue venue. A former firehouse converted to a restaurant, aptly named "Chicago Firehouse" - complete with pole and all! We had to wait half an hour for our reserved table because the first one they sat us at we declined (right in the middle of the bar--no room for four of us). We finally got a great booh in the back overlooking the beautiful snow-covered patio. The food reviews were mixed amongst the four of us - i had a wonderfully juicy Amish chicken with garlic mashed potatoes, my husband had a great 12 oz bone in rib-eye which he thoroughly enjoyed along with a side (a la carte) of roasted brusset sprouts. Our dinner companions were not so happy with their lobster tail and steak. The service was average - not at all inspired or informed. And we were a little perturbed that they wouldn't let us sub a ceasar for a wedge salad on the prix fixe menu - even though we wanted to get the more expensive menu! Ended up not ordering prix fixe at all. All in all-this is a great - but rather expensive - place for a cozy winter night's dinner in Chicago.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank truthbetold_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“good”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Nice place. Food is very good and so was the service. Can be comfortable for just 2 or for a group.The waiter was great and very helpful. Would recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Reasonable and tasty!”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I had a business dinner here in September 2012. The service was wonderful and helpful. I had an amazing carrot soup, recommended by our waiter. The entrees were generous, but not overly so. The prices were very affordable. It was delicious and I plan to go back with my family. The decor was lovely--beautifully restored!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank R0cky3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chicago Firehouse - REOPENED also viewed

 

Been to The Chicago Firehouse - REOPENED? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing