We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the authentic firehouse venue-pole included! Ambiance was cozy and warm, of course!”

The Chicago Firehouse - REOPENED
Reserve with OpenTable
The Chicago Firehouse - REOPENED is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #820 of 9,614 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $20 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: South Loop
Cross street: 14th Street
Transit: Michigan Avenue Bus - #4, #3, #1, #12 CTA Red Line Train, CTA Orange Line Train, CTA Green Line Train - Roosevelt stop
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Love the authentic firehouse venue-pole included! Ambiance was cozy and warm, of course!”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Can't beat the ambiance at this cozy south Michigan Avenue venue. A former firehouse converted to a restaurant, aptly named "Chicago Firehouse" - complete with pole and all! We had to wait half an hour for our reserved table because the first one they sat us at we declined (right in the middle of the bar--no room for four of us). We finally got a great booh in the back overlooking the beautiful snow-covered patio. The food reviews were mixed amongst the four of us - i had a wonderfully juicy Amish chicken with garlic mashed potatoes, my husband had a great 12 oz bone in rib-eye which he thoroughly enjoyed along with a side (a la carte) of roasted brusset sprouts. Our dinner companions were not so happy with their lobster tail and steak. The service was average - not at all inspired or informed. And we were a little perturbed that they wouldn't let us sub a ceasar for a wedge salad on the prix fixe menu - even though we wanted to get the more expensive menu! Ended up not ordering prix fixe at all. All in all-this is a great - but rather expensive - place for a cozy winter night's dinner in Chicago.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank truthbetold_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    74
    31
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“good”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Nice place. Food is very good and so was the service. Can be comfortable for just 2 or for a group.The waiter was great and very helpful. Would recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Reasonable and tasty!”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I had a business dinner here in September 2012. The service was wonderful and helpful. I had an amazing carrot soup, recommended by our waiter. The entrees were generous, but not overly so. The prices were very affordable. It was delicious and I plan to go back with my family. The decor was lovely--beautifully restored!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank R0cky3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Tasty and elegant”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

A midweek Christmas party found us at the restaurant in the late afternoon. The Chicago Chicago Firehouse is one of the few restaurants in the downtown area that do not close between lunch and dinner. While this restaurant in not in the main downtown area, it is well worth the little extra effort to get there. A calamari appetizer disappeared quickly. I had the boneless ribeye and most of the others had the bone in ribeye. Vegetables are a la carte, but sharing sizes are available that can feed several people. The garlic mashed potatoes and spinach were delicious. Had no room for dessert. This is an old firehouse that was converted elegantly to a restaurant. For those who are wondering, the firehouse pole can still be seen on the first floor by the bar area. The second floor (no pole due to safety reasons) and patio (formerly used for parking and/or horses) are available for parties. Very nice. Will return.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank roadtripmajik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My Thanksgiving Day visit!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Went to the restaurant on Thanksgiving day and had a wonderful meal. The service & nuances of the restaurant were Awesome.I highly recommend anyone who visits Chicago to go there.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Al G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chicago Firehouse - REOPENED also viewed

 

Been to The Chicago Firehouse - REOPENED? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing