We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the worst (food) reastaurant meals we've had in recent ememory”
Review of Bistrot Margot - CLOSED

Bistrot Margot
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: North Avenue
Transit: LaSalle and Clark St. bus lines, Red Line Clark/Division, Brown Line Sedgwick
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“one of the worst (food) reastaurant meals we've had in recent ememory”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We tried. Our expectations were for a Franco inspired Thanksgiving dinner. And although the service provided by the staff was absolutely first rate, the food was not. Onion soup with tomato as a base? Turkey that well, was a lot of meat but little sustenance, and desserts that just did not come together (one tasted like sugar granules the other like hershey's syrup)
Ahhh, but my wife did say the double expresso was excellent. Sorry, guys.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ADog56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    65
    21
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good for pre theater”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Classic French Bistrot - we go hear every time we go to see Second City ( you can get a package deal thru the box office too). My family and I love it

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank RRMbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Charming and delicious”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We had dinner here and it was a wonderful evening. We started with cocktails at the bar -- the bartender was so friendly and full of great suggestions. We had a delicious meal, and would recommend the beef bourginion (can't spell it but it tasted great, and the mashed potatoes with horseradish were perfect), the peppercorn sauce on the steak was fantastic so get it just so you can dip fries and bread in it! The waiter was very helpful and pointed out a wine on sale that was excellent. Very charming and stylish maitre'd. We had lots of fun.

Helpful?
Thank Nancy53_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
283 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 656 helpful votes
“Lovely Brunch”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We visited this place for the second time yesterday. Our brunch last year was so good, we had to return! Great atmosphere, perfect service. My husband saw that a Sunday special was Coq au Vin and ordered it. Turns out, it was a dinner special but the chef offered it to him with a 20 min wait. Impressive! Anyway, he had a delicious omelette with spinach and gruyere, I had the quiche special with ham and an herb topping. It was so fluffy and light. Served with a side of greens and a very authentic French style dressing, it was perfect! We each had a Bloody Mary with cucumber vodka. Yum! I have been to France many times and this restaurant captures the true essence of the cuisine.

Helpful?
1 Thank LLindaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
216 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Best place for Breakfast”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have been here for breakfast a couple times when I visited Chicago.They have the best French Toast with special butter.It is melt in your mouth wonderful.The atmosphere is very french and fun.This is a cozy comfortable place to catch up with friends.You don't feel like you are being pushed out if you just want to talk.I would come here again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fancythis72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing