We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best meals of Chicago”
Review of La Petite Folie

La Petite Folie
Ranked #1,308 of 9,520 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Hyde Park
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
63 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“One of the best meals of Chicago”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Me and my wife went there for our anniversary, and we had one of the best meals of our lives. I had a steak and she had salmon. Both were delicious! The only downside is the price, so it's not the place I'd go every week, but it's definitely worth it to check it out, if you can!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rafaelfcmoreira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    15
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Ypsilanti, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“one of the best”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

everything to love - staff, wine, food - the whole experience. great prix fixe menu as well - priced right and good choices. loved the sauces. will definitely return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank davidwine48197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Special Spot in Hyde Park”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Every item on the menu sounds amazing. Business is good and the service is very attentive. I've been here twice in the last year, and I'll gladly return.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Black_Sox_Manager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“I really love this small, quaint, romantic place.”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Can't wait for another special occasion to splurge. I was planning to go today around 4 but I see Tuesday evenings they don't open until 5.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YMoyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Connecticut
Level Contributor
128 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nicest restaurant in the University of Chicago area”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

If you are looking to provide a treat to your son or daughter attending the University of Chicago, this is probably the nicest restaurant in the Hyde Park area. Food and service was excellent and, for the parents, they have a wonderful wine list.
Only complaint from our 6' 4" son -- the food was terrific but the portions were small! For us as parents, the portions were just right, but appetites at age 18 are big. Still, he and his friends were delighted to have a break from college dining hall food and it was nice not to have to drive everyone to downtown Chicago or the North Side.
Restaurant is tucked away in a small little mall, so at first we drove past the address.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Petite Folie also viewed

 

Been to La Petite Folie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing