We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Chicago

“This is real Chicago pizza”

Bije's Bar and Grill
Order Online
OR
Order Online
Ranked #2,423 of 10,705 Restaurants in Chicago
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Dunning
Description: Bije's was opened in April of 1996. With a secret pizza recipe from Lucca, Italy and a commitment to offering the best pizza in Chicago, it is no wonder that Bije's is such a popular neighborhood restaurant. Owner Carl Quilici has a natural knack to make everyone feel at home at Bije's by sharing a joke at the bar or tossing pizza dough high in the air to impress the kids. Carl was born in Chicago, and raised in a family with a long tradition in the restaurant business. His family has owned and operated Roman Holiday, Armando's, Armando Q's and the Original Gino's East. The biggest influence in Carl's life was his father, who instilled a love of the kitchen and the importance of providing customers with great food. Carl and his wife, Liz, opened Bije's almost 2 decades ago on April 1, 1996. April Fools' Day? Yes, because according to Carl, "Only a fool goes into the restaurant business".
Reviewed January 21, 2020

We love this place. The pizza choices are classic Chicago- thin crust with whatever toppings you want. We love sausage & onion, or sometimes the italian beef with giardinaiera- delicious. Everything is very fresh and all homemade. If you don't go with the pizza have the lasagna or bruschetta ravioli with delicious creme sauce. Staff is always friendly and welcoming. They even know our drink orders by heart! Our go-to pizza place and great for watching sports all year long.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ElleKaye73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (10)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 10 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2017 via mobile

This is such a cute hole in the wall! I have a gluten allergy and the server was quick to verify with the chef about making a gluten free pizza for me. They were very attentive and the food was delicious! Elise is the bomb and took care of my table. Very personable and kind! Overall we had a wonderful time chowing down some authentic Chicago pizza here!!

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank The_travelingkitten3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2017 via mobile

We frequent this place weekly. Great prices and great people! Food is delicious homemade Italian. They are open daily 4pm-12am.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Mrstoler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2017

Bije's Grill and Bar is a sports bar that specializes in pizza. In fact, owner Carl Quilici has been involved in the family business going back to Armando's and the Original Gino's East in downtown Chicago and he swears that his restaurant's pizza is based on a secret recipe that originated in Lucca, Italy. Who am I to argue? Located at 7455 West Irving Park Road in Norridge, Quilici opened Bije's in 1996. Friends who know my affection and preference for thin crust cheese and sausage pizza recommended Bije's. Some Tripadvisor reviews claimed it was the "absolute best thin crust pizza" in Chicago. Well, it is as good as advertised, not too much cheese, not too much tomato sauce, not too much crust, plenty of sausage, plenty of flavor, not too filling. But Bije's offers more than pizza. The menu features a plethora of delicious Italian fare, including bruschetta (grilled Italian bread brushed with olive oil and garlic and topped with fresh tomato, onion and basil), garlic bread, pizza bread, arancini, calamari, Italian beef, Italian sausage, Italian meatball, meat and cheese and spinach ravioli, pasta, linguine and several speciality pizzas, including Buffalo wing, BBQ, Margherita and Bije's Special (sausage, onions, mushrooms, green peppers). You're in a mood for something else? How about fried jumbo shrimp or chicken parmigiana or tilapia or grilled chicken breast or a Bije's Burger, 1/2-pound of ground chuck with all the trimmings?

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Taylor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2015 via mobile

As a lifelong Chicagoan, I will swear that Carl has the absolute best thin crust pizza I've ever had. You've got to try the Buffalo Wing pizza. If I'm trapped on a island, this is my go to meal - heaven.
Burgers are as good as the pizza.

Date of visit: July 2015
Thank Abenture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bije's Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing