We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chicago neighborhood Italian gem.”

Porretta's Pizzeria
Ranked #2,982 of 9,604 Restaurants in Chicago
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Neighborhood: Northwest Side
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Northwest Side
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Chicago neighborhood Italian gem.”
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Met friends for a Sunday night dinner. The pizza was terrific. We also ordered lasagna & chicken parms. The Pinot Noir by the glass did not disappoint.
If you're looking for excellent neighborhood Chicago Italian, this restaurant is reasonably priced, the service was exceptional & we were even given a discount card for a return visit which will get used. It's hard to believe how many times I'd driven by Porretta's before stopping in. Great atmosphere, too.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl5353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    3
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The Best Italian Restaurant in the Neighborhood”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We have been coming to this restaurant ever since we moved into the neighborhood many years. We use their takeout menu and have had family parties there. The best Alfredo I have had and the best pizza. Can't go wrong with anything on their menu. Getting pizza there tonight!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ellyn, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
333 reviews
284 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Go anywhere else!”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

This place was recommended by two friends and what a disappointment!

Yes, the bread was good, but the pizza was lacking toppings, they had "NO" flavor, and the pizza was expensive!

The sausage had no taste was obviously pre-cooked and I had to look for the pieces. Worst of all, my date ordered her 1/2 with cheese and mushroom and mine had mushroom and sausage, the sausage was on over 2/3's and the pizza was cut opposite the 1/2 that was to be veggie.

You want good pizza on the Northside go to Pete's Pizza on Western. People compared this to Pete's Pizza and it more compared to Domino's!
One beer and a pizza was thirty bucks with tip!

It was noisy, with obvious locals keeping it open!

This place is over-rated!

What a disappointment.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“THIS IS AN AUTHENTIC ITALIAN CHICAGO RESTAURANT”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We found out about this place from a family friend. After our first visit we were hooked. By our standards, and being Italian ourselves, we are naturally and obviously harsh food critics about Italian cuisine. The overall value of our visit was positive, as the quality of the food was excellent. We will continue to be customers of this fine, small Italian restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JCDBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“True Chicago Pizza”
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

When living in Chicago, our family had pizza delivered frequently from Porretta's. Some friends and I stopped in the restaurant for dinner and we were all pleasantly surprised by the warm welcome and great menu items. Hard to believe, but the pizza was so much better fresh from the oven...I didn't think it could taste any better!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mefleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porretta's Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Porretta's Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing