We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chicagos little eatery”
Review of Nookies

Nookies
Ranked #125 of 9,604 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $12
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Neighborhood: Lincoln Park
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Chicagos little eatery”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

From the outside nothing special on the inside kinda small with tables to close to each other. We had a group of 3 and were seated in a couple of minutes. Good breakfast menu selection but service a little slow. Food prepared fresh but portions skimmpy. Great people watching place,if you like everyones phone attached to their ear. A bit loud for a relaxing breakfast.,

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EnjoyLife4evr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    91
    22
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
546 reviews
313 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Edgewater Elegance”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We booked the party room for a family dinner, and Nookies Edgwater (not Wells Street) exceeded our expectations. Our planning started with a generous, helpful and friendly wine-tasting of ten (mostly red) wines before we settled on two house wines: Risling and Tempranillo. Friendly managers helped us with both the wine selection and menu.

As selection of four beers on tap (including Stella), wine and appetizers were presented while the family gathered. Appetizers included White Bean Hummus (demolished in 15 minutes), chicken tenders (refill requested), baked goat cheese in marinara sauce and flatboat served with a selection of spreads. House salad was served family style with an assortment of four dressings. Guests chose from a preselected entrée menu that included Skirt Steak (flavourful but tough), roast chicken (generous portion), cobb salad (with all the trimmings) and bar-b-q tofu. All were served with a creative selection of potatoes and vegetables. Dessert was an offering of cherry crisp topped with ice cream or double chocolate brownie with whipped cream on the side.

Service was present, pleasant and well-timed. Our contained family event had a street view, and lighting was adjusted as the sun went down. Fits a group of 20 - 25 comfortably, cozy enough to feel like home with white linen service.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sassamatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Love having breakfast here”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

When I lived in the city I used to frequent this place. After about a five year break, I'm glad to say it's just as good as it used to.

It's a bit tight and crowded and you almost always have to wait on the weekends, but the food more than makes up for those minor hassles.

The breakfast menu has a bunch of crazy items on it that you'd never put together in your own kitchen - and they're all great. As is the standard breakfast fare.

Service is great from the moment you walk in to the moment you walk out.

Prices are very reasonable as well.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blueteej1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Up in Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Ho hum - this place needs work!”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

VERY popular locally, but God knows why. Tables jammed together for maximum volume mean immobile servers and cheek-by-jowl dining with total strangers. Watery tomato soup. Rusty white head-lettuce in salads. Cold coffee. Stale bread.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank TAWizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“"Cozy Nook"”
Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I stopped here at the recommendation of a 'local' client of his. We were not disappointed. We were seated right away by a friendly host, poured fresh coffee within 30 seconds of sitting down, ordered promptly, and were served within 10 minutes. We both had omelettes which were huge and very fresh. He ordered a ham & swiss, plus added pineapple for which there was no extra charge, and it was fresh pineapple! We were both impressed with the quality and tastiness of the fresh fruit. The marble rye was toasted perfectly. I will definitely stop here again when in the Old town area.

Helpful?
Thank Luvs2vac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nookies also viewed

 

Been to Nookies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing