We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great gluten free!”
Review of Marcello's

Marcello's
Ranked #1,451 of 9,604 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Delivery
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great gluten free!”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I would definitely recommend Marcello's to a friend and we will return the next time we are in Chicago.

The gluten free pasta was tremendous. When you eat something and doubt if it's really gluten free, it's a good sign! (When you're not sick the next day, it's an even better sign!) The service was great, our meal was hot when it was brought to the table, and I don't think my glass of water was ever less than half full (I hope the wait staff shares tips with these kids).

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beannburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    18
    6
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Foley, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Great food and Service. Very nice and hated to be rushed. If we are ever back in the area... we will definitly eat here again

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank macman0165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food and gluten free choices”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed in a condo close to Marcello's which has a gluten free menu. The Broasted chicken was just great and the spaghetti that came with it was wonderful. My partner has celiac disease and had the gluten-free pizza. The crust was fine but the toppings were really good. It was a fun old fashion family restaurant and if we had been in town longer we would have gone back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelgirl60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crete, Illinois, United States
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Family Dining Great!”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I have now been to Marcello's approximately 10 times and everytime has been the same ... great! I have been with family and, on a couple of occasions, with a church group. Not only I enjoyed the food, waite staff, and service, but everyone else did as well. The Broasted Chicken is extremely juicy and delicious along with the sides.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clinton W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Needs an overhaul”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Mediocre pizza at a premium price. Staff not helpful. Mentioned it to manager when leaving, he said sorry and turned around to finish a joke with a buddy. Must do great catering business, because it could care less about the individual customer.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dh d D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marcello's also viewed

 

Been to Marcello's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing