We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the food, not the service”

Topo Gigio Ristorante
Ranked #97 of 9,614 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Near North Side
Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Go for the food, not the service”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Great food, slow service that wasn't very impressive. Very loud in there, but we knew this and our food made up for the "meh" service.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank busymom01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    95
    31
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great food and service.”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Authentic Italian food and dining experience. Great outdoor dining area and friendly, efficient service. Fun area of town....old Chicago.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Terri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardiner, Montana
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Delicious food and drink in a very noisy atmosphere”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Eight of us had reservations for an early dinner before going to Second City. We all had drinks, some had salads, we all had entrees, and we shared desserts. All eight of us loved our meals. The portions were huge! They put a candle in one of the desserts because we were celebrating a birthday. The wait staff kept our water glasses full which pleased us as we were all thirsty and didn't want too many drinks before going to the comedy club. The only downside to our meal was the noise level in the restaurant. Because it is small with many tight fitting tables, it was very noisy. So much so that it made it difficult to hear the person beside us and impossible to hear the friends across the table. I highly recommend the restaurant for its food and drink!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Relaxandtravel200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Italian Food”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

All the dishes are excellent and abundant. You'll leave happy and full. Really good sauces! I've been here numerous times and always have a good time and a great meal. Can't miss with this spot. Extra great in the summertime outdoors.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great meal in a charming part of town.”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Five of us for dinner - all of us LOVED our meals. Two of us had salads- filled with fresh, dark leafy green lettuce pieces! The pasta was excellent, the sauces were light and tasty. Can't wait for another trip to Old Town.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank FlowrGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Topo Gigio Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Topo Gigio Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing