We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must have the Guacamole”
Review of Adobo Grill

Adobo Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Adobo Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #256 of 9,604 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Near North Side
Cross street: North Avenue and Wells St
Transit: Brown Line - Sedgewick El stop North Ave bus
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
“Must have the Guacamole”
Reviewed December 3, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Excellent Mexican food with a modern twist. We always have an order of the Guacamole, it is a must with a bit of spice.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ralf P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    111
    28
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Food was great, service was excellent. Great margaritas and guacamole! I would definitely like to return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Snowbird1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Average Mexican Fare”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Adobo has a friendly staff and offers average Mexican fare. The location is immediately next to Second City which is convenient, but there are also better options nearby.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lori A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great choice for dinner before Second City (or any other time!)”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

My travel group were visiting Chicago and had tickets for Second City on a Saturday night. With wanting to get there early, I figured dinner within walking distance of SC made sense, so I made a 5:30 reservation for the eight of us. We were seated immediately in our own little alcove. The restaurant has a vibrant and upbeat feel to it that put us in the mood for a great dinner. Our main waiter (Miguel?) was energetic and friendly and made the experience fun. Those who ordered Margaritas were treated to them being shaken table-side and said they were delicious. The beer-drinkers all found something to their liking, although a few more selections would have been appreciated. Tableside guacamole was great - we had one prepared milder than the other, but I added hot sauce on mine anyway. As noted in another review, the salsa was on the mild side, but hot sauce solved that problem as well. Everyone thought the food was delicious. Because we drank for a while and had appetizers and entrees, we arrived at Second City a little after 7 for the 8 o'clock show. That was perfect timing and we got seats near the front of the stage.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PaGuy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
579 reviews
339 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Next door to Second City”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Adobo Grill is next door to Second City so it was very convenient for us to eat first and then see a comedy show. Definitely loved the made at the tableside guacaole so you know that it is fresh. The salsa was just ok, needed a bit more kick. I only wished that the tortilla chips were warmed up. The salad with the jicama and mango salad was very good. My main entree was the flank steak and it was cooked perfectly. Since they have a large side room, this restaurant is great for large groups. Service was excellent and our glasses were rarely empty.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BayAreaTraveler6338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adobo Grill also viewed

 

Been to Adobo Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing