We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Chicago
Post
Inbox
Search

“Lunch after the zoo”
Review of R.J. Grunts

R.J. Grunts
Order Online
Ranked #350 of 11,268 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $12 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Lincoln Park
Cross street: Dickens
Description: The first Lettuce Entertain You restaurant, R.J. Grunts still exudes the funky, devil-may-care lifestyle of the 70s in its style, décor, music, and menu. Happily for all of us, the best eating of that day continues to be some of the best today. While there's a huge menu that's as much fun to eat your way through as it is to read, many of Grunts' old American favorites spark return visits. The burgers are arguably the best in town. The salad bar boasts more than 50 ingredients daily. Giant malts and milkshakes are hand scooped and come in a rainbow of colors and flavors. And, the Craft beer selection makes it easy to choose the perfect tasty beverage.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a great lunch here after visiting the Lincoln Park Zoo. Burger - delicious, perfect; sweet potato fries - also delicious. A wonderful, delicious meal!

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank camosami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (356)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 356 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2019

We had appointments in the area and needed a fast but different place to eat. We found Grunts. Food delicious, so many items to choose from. The salad bar looked great, although we didn't order it. Very pleased with our meal and service.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Becki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2019 via mobile

We have been here before a couple years ago and it was ok. We decided to give it another try. However, we were not impressed. The food was on the pricey side for how small the portions are. They are supposed to be known for their burgers but mine was bland and tasteless. Our waitress only came back twice to check on us. So between the service and food we will not be returning. You can sign up on their website to get a $10 off coupon to be used on certain days after 4PM. I would also recommend making reservations.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank MeagS2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2019

We had a charming casual dinner at the iconic RJ Grunts in Chicago. The food was delicious, the menu very varied and the prices were moderate. The décor is somewhat old fashioned and hasn't changed much in the last 40 years. RJ Grunts is iconic because it is the 1st Lettuce Entertain You restaurant that opened in around 1972. The wait staff were charming and professional. The location is excellent on Lincoln Park West

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tonyspier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2019 via mobile

Like many other reviews, we ate here starting in the 70’s also but haven’t been there for at least twenty years....and it’ll be another twenty before I go back!

Looks the same, feels the same but everything was very average... my pulled pork was not good, fatty, small portion on Texas toast smothered in sauce to makeup for the lack of smoky flavor. The patty melts were pretty good and enjoyed. The salad bar has lost its luster..... and some ingredients aren’t old school.

Service was slow, bar was slower and I dislike being called Hon - it’s not Ed Debevics.

Nice area to meet friends and walk around but I won’t be returning.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Chicagonative_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed R.J. Grunts also viewed

 

Been to R.J. Grunts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing