We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Veggie Pizza Ever!”

Lou Malnati’s Pizzeria
Ranked #64 of 9,608 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Downtown / The Loop
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Veggie Pizza Ever!”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Wow! Talk about a pizza. This was the best veggie pizza I have ever had. We also tried the meat pizza, but I didn't like it as much. Later, we did a taste taste with Giordano's pizza, and Malnati's won with the veggie pizza, and Giordano's won with the meat pizza.

The service was great and the waitress explained the primary differences between their deep dish pizza and Giordano's deep dish pizza. The main difference I remember is that Giordano's adds a thin later of crust at the top of their pizza.

It wasn't crowded at all and had a great casual atmosphere inside.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank jenniferl227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,701 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    941
    520
    176
    48
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn Park, MD
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

The pizza here is amazing! Nothing like I get back home in MD. If travelling to Chicago, make it a point to try any of the Malnati's locations. The flazor is awesome and the flacky crust just makes it all the better. Highly recommend Lou Malnati's. My wife and I plan to order some to be shipped to us.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fordman352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Best deep dish ever”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Also, the cheese cube appetizer is AMAZING, as is the a la mode chocolate chip cookie dessert that comes in a mini pizza pan. This is one of my favorite meals of all time. It's not calorie friendly, of course, but if you're going to splurge, this one is completely worth it!

Note that at typical meal times, especially on weekends, this place can have a good wait. Try to go a bit earlier or later than traditional meal times and you can typically avoid a wait. Note that deep dish does take a fair bit longer to cook than a normal pizza. That's why they have such delicious cheddar cubes :)

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Destination Dinner”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We were staying downtown and took a taxi to eat here after reading reviews on the internet. We did enjoy our dinner. One extra large pizza was enough to feed four adults. We thought maybe the pizza had more tomatoes than it really needed but we don't have anything like this where we live. Our service was good. The beer was quite expensive. Overall we would rank the whole experience and good and we are glad we came but would try something else to be able to compare it too.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank MsCleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“182nd best pizza NO WAY”
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

I can't believe hundred and 82nd best, this place is awesome. We found this place last year on our trip to Chicago thought it was the best pizza we have ever had we just stopped again last Saturday and didn't change your mind. The service is five-star the pizza can't be better, prices are great.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank craig-cassandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lou Malnati’s Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Lou Malnati’s Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing