We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place/food/service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Berghoff Cafe

Berghoff Cafe
Ranked #747 of 9,466 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
ny
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great place/food/service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

we stopped by this place for lunch which was excellent, the food was delicious and the service was great too. We had a salad and shepherd pie both were very good.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank tasha n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    56
    22
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A nice place and respite from O'Hare”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is a nice place to rest and hang out while you wait for your delayed flight at O'Hare. The beer is decent, and the sandwiches are homemade and tasty. Quality ingredients. It has more of a bar atmosphere than the landmark institution in the loop. But, it is certainly a great, non-chain choice at the airport.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BBCPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgarly
Level Contributor
84 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

After doing the original downtown, we had a 2 hour wait in O'hare. Decided to get a couple sandwiches from the Airport Berghoff. Excellent, way better than a McDee's or other sandwich shop.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank cheezewiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Old school Chicago for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

My family enjoyed something for everyone while eating lunch in downtown Chicago. Berghoff Cafe had pizza and eggplant parmigiana for the vegetarians and Pulled pork BBQ for me. Had a distinctive old school feel with all the businessmen having lunches. Being in a basement was really nice in that everyone had their cell phones put away. People we're just sitting around eating and talking. Something you dontbexperie any more.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Level Contributor
221 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great place for an omelette”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stumbled on this place while trolling for a place to get breakfast. The food was good, the food prep was fast. We enjoyed having a place to sit and enjoy our food. Too bad I don't drink beer with breakfast.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JoRoOmaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Berghoff Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Berghoff Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing