We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”
Review of Japonais by Morimoto - CLOSED

Japonais by Morimoto
Price range: $41 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Near North Side
Cross street: Larabee Street
Transit: Chicago Avenue Bus, CTA Brown Line (Chicago/Franklin)
Description: Japonais by Morimoto offers its guests the signature cuisine of (Iron Chef) Masaharu Morimoto; a seamless blend of Japanese and Western techniques brought together to create exciting new flavors and culinary experiences. With brand new enhancements, designed by the timeless Jeffrey Beers International, our restaurant features two distinct dining rooms and among the new and exciting additions to our dramatic yet classic 10,000 sq. ft. space are a sushi bar backed by an open kitchen where Chef Morimoto’s signature omakase menus are prepared and Shochu / Sake bar which features Chef Morimoto’s own line of shochu, sake and craft beers.
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

Very unassuming location, beautiful decor, with equally impressive food, from the sushi, to the steaks and seafood. I highly recommend taking time to experience this magnificent location, maybe you will be as lucky as I was to run into Iron Chef Morimoto, who happened to be there the day of my visit.

Helpful?
Thank Yuri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    125
    63
    26
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
81 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Love this place, although it's a bit off the beaten path. Since we like to take public transportation in the city (cheaper, no wait for valet, no traffic), this wasn't the most convenient place to get to, but it was worth the distance.
Much like several other restaurants downtown/north side, the tables are a little too close together, which surprises me. I know Morimoto lost weight, but if you're over a size 6, the tables need to be moved to the side to use the restroom.
We ordered the oysters, the prawn, the lamb carpaccio, and the sea urchin sashimi and the seafood toban yaki. Everything but the lamb came highly recommended by the server and the lamb was the weakest dish. The seafood toban yaki was so flavorful and good that I told the server it would be sinful to throw away the broth. He took pity on us and brought us a bowl of rice to finish off the broth. The server was really excellent.
The only negatives were that it's fairly expensive. I've been to celeb chef restaurants before (C-House, Table 52, Girl and the Goat) and this was the costliest. It's not to say it's not worth it, but it's definitely a special occasion restaurant. And the lamb was fairly tasteless.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chisoxbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Birthday Bash”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

The food was lovely. Tempura shrimp, sirloin so tender it melted , pork belly sandwiches, chicken satay was mediocre,real chocolate covered strawberries and a really good birthday cake filled with a fresh strawberry filling and rich buttercream.

The waitress were snippy when requesting beverages. Im still waiting on the wine i requested. That sucked. The space was comfy right off the river. Music was too loud to enjoy conversation.
Valet parking was reasonably priced at $12-$18, in comparison to restaurants closer to downtown.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MzNetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“japonais = amazing!”
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

A few people recommended Japonais to us, and we were not disappointed.
Our server, Daniel, was both knowledgable and attentive. He directed us to his favorites on the menu, which become our favorites as well. The king crab appetizer was one of the best things I've ever eaten. And the sushi we got - spicy tuna & soft shell crab - were melt in your mouth delicious! We also ordered black cod and duck confit fried rice, that were both unbelievable.
The atmosphere is super hip and trendy when you walk in. We went downstairs after dinner for drinks and dessert on the river. The vibe downstairs is also very cool - almost like your in a tropical locale.
Lastly, Chef Morimoto came over to our table and he was extremely friendly and gracious.
Overall, an excellent way to begin our Chicago vacation.

Helpful?
Thank stephie18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food - Awful Service - Incredibly Expensive”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

After reading many reviews that were fairly negative, I ultimately decided to bite the bullet and give it a shot simply because I am a Food Network addict and has interested in eating at a Morimoto restaurant.

From the moment we arrived, we were quite uncomfortable. The host had us wait 15 minutes for a table even though we had reservations and the restaurant was half empty. Our waiter was shockingly arrogant and uninterested in enhancing our experience. Other than delivering our food without spilling it, I have nothing positive to say. It pained me to leave him 15%...

The food (Toro Tartare, Duck Meatball Soup, Duck Fried Rice, Assorted A La Carte Sushi & Maki Rolls, Chocolate Tart) was very good. The problem is that dinner without anything to drink came to $180.00 before tip and honestly, the exact same quality meal can be had for 1/3 the price in just about every other city.

I would never return to this specific location as it was truly the only disappointment in an otherwise incredible trip to Chicago. Speak to your hotel concierges and go with other sushi recomendations. Save your money for all the other incredible options the windy city has to offer!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Japonais by Morimoto also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing