We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful night out”
Review of Japonais by Morimoto - CLOSED

Japonais by Morimoto
Price range: $41 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Near North Side
Cross street: Larabee Street
Transit: Chicago Avenue Bus, CTA Brown Line (Chicago/Franklin)
Description: Japonais by Morimoto offers its guests the signature cuisine of (Iron Chef) Masaharu Morimoto; a seamless blend of Japanese and Western techniques brought together to create exciting new flavors and culinary experiences. With brand new enhancements, designed by the timeless Jeffrey Beers International, our restaurant features two distinct dining rooms and among the new and exciting additions to our dramatic yet classic 10,000 sq. ft. space are a sushi bar backed by an open kitchen where Chef Morimoto’s signature omakase menus are prepared and Shochu / Sake bar which features Chef Morimoto’s own line of shochu, sake and craft beers.
Tinley Park
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“wonderful night out”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Food was great! (Even for those that don't like sushi there are plenty of other choices). Desserts were amazing. 4 of us had different food and all enjoyed it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tele_kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    125
    63
    26
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phladelphia, PA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great scene, excellent food, odd service”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Visited with several colleagues. Sat outside along the River Walk...very nice. Dishes were excellent...each one seemed better than the next. Notably the tartare, black cod and the Kobe. Service was slow and disappointing...some of the staff couldn't explain what they were serving us. Also, we were told that not all items on the menu were available outside...odd.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leskavage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
397 reviews
248 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Devine dining experience”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I have always enjoyed this restaurant. It is chic and uplifting. We usually let the waiter order for us, and they never disappoint. We started with a cold filtered sake, "Angels in the Snow". It was expensive at $81 but worth it. It had citrus and mango tasting notes. Starting with a seaweed salad, then a roll, (we chose the tuna tuna salmon roll) which is out favorite. Then scallops, then sashimi, fresh as always, then creme brulee. A fantastic dining experience. Our waiter was Mario and he was ever helpfull and effecient. Bill came out to $225 w/o tip. If you go between 5-7, less crowded. I used Open Table.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kimo688889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not impressed and terrible service”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

My reviews are usually very good and give credit to hard working professionals in the restaurant industry. This place had to be the worst restaurant I have ever visited in my entire life. This is the first time I have stated this. The server was terrible. It took him 30 minutes to show up. Then the majority of our food showed up for most of our party and several people were left out and their food arrived 1 hour and 15 minutes later. The server displayed major aggression and attitude when simply asked for service and nothing else. In the end, the manager took control of the situation and took care of use. Food ok...I would rather go to a hole in the wall Sushi place and get better service and authentic food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Abe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Not impressed.”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

True, this is the place to be seen right now, but my group thought it was lacking compared to all of the other choices in Chicago. Food was mediocre and overpriced, service was ok. Drinks were delicious but also pricey. It seemed more just to be a place to dress up before hitting the town.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SuburbtoSuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing