We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super”
Review of Rosebud Steakhouse

Rosebud Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Rosebud Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #203 of 9,668 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Streeterville
Cross street: Mies Van Der Rohe Way
Transit: The Red Line's Chicago stop is .4 mile South West at the corner of Chicago Avenue and State Street.
Description: At Rosebud Steakhouse, our native language is prime beef, chops, and fresh seafood. Located one block east of The Magnificent Mile, this iconic Chicago steak house offers a wine list of more than 300 selections, aged single malt scotches, and much more. From our celebrated Bone-In Filet Mignon to our legendary Spinach Salad with Warm Bacon Dressing and beyond, we take pride in the fact that Rosebud Steakhouse never fails to convert walk-ins into regulars. An established hideaway for locals and celebrities, your experience here will be like none you've had before. Discover for yourself why Rosebud Steakhouse is considered "a rare steakhouse well done."
CapelleaandenIjssel
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Super”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

This is a great place to have a meal. If we ever come back to Chicago, we will definitely visit this Italian/steakhouse again. Wine chart was impecable. Food was great.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anthony V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    138
    43
    18
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Rosebud is a classic. Impeccable service, superb food, wonderful quiet music, in a lovely setting. There seem to be few restaurants that match this consistent quality for a fine dining experience, it is one we will remember.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank P T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, DE
Level 6 Contributor
376 reviews
267 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Steaks are their specialty ”
Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

Have been here 3 times now, and very pleased with each visit. Service is very good. We had the perfect waiter last night. He was great. There were 5 people in our group, and we all enjoyed our meals - Oscar special, ahi tuna, Dover sole, cowboy ribeye and surf and turf. Garlic spinach and green bean sides were excellent. Alaskan king crab very tasty. Good wine list. Live piano player. The only thing I was disappointed in was the cold lobster (part of appetizer) and mashed potatoes with cheddar and lobster. It is on the pricier side. Has been pretty busy each time we went, so reservation is recommended. I would definitely return.

Helpful?
Thank MyTravels033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding steakhouse”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Perfect steak! The Rosebud serves a classic steak. One of the best wedge salads I have eaten. Try the Oysters good selection.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank AllenLRDU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Fl
Level 6 Contributor
424 reviews
406 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“60 days aged is Putrid, disgusting - no full Disclosure”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

We went at the advise of the concierge from the Drake for a reasonably price meal. There's got to be some collusion here. This is a very expensive restaurant. We thought the Tomahawk aged steak would be great, it was disgusting. Putrid, rotten taste. We couldn't even finish a few bites. "The way it supposed to taste" said our waiter. We were staying at the Drake and of course couldn't even take home out sides. We were never told the fish came with sides so we totally over ordered. Total scam, I bet most people are too embarrassed to question this. We should have gone to Morton's where you know it will be good and you know what you'll be getting with full disclosure.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LEvoyeur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosebud Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Rosebud Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing