We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed breakfast and lunch here”
Review of Foodlife

Foodlife
Ranked #345 of 9,602 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Chinese, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch
Neighborhood: Magnificent Mile
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“We enjoyed breakfast and lunch here”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed in the Ritz but didn't want to spend a ton on breakfast for 7. The breakfast spot next to the coffee spot had wonderful scrambled eggs and some of the best bacon we've ever had! I had an egg white sandwich on wheat which was not the greatest. My husband loved his bacon, egg and cheese croissant. My favorite part was the fresh fruit and you could buy bowls of strawberries that were fresh and sweet without sugar! For a quick lunch I bought Chinese - 4 egg roles and Chicken and vegetables with rice to go that were excellent! We love the containers - we washed them up and have been using them to store leftovers and reheat them in the microwave. Now that's a valuable meal!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JodyLovesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    113
    36
    13
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great for kids and for parents, too”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Bit confusing when you arrive. Looks like a bus station at the entrance. When you get to a host or hostess, they'll hand everybody in your party a card then show you to a table. Plop your stuff down, then wander around and behold the food. Soup, salad, noodles, pasta, stir fry....and your kids can get pizza or hot dogs. My kids had hamburgers and darn it, they were great! It's not the most exotic or fussy food, but it's good. The atmosphere is fun. Everybody can get what they want. My kids (8 & 10) loved strolling up to a counter and ordering for themselves, then handing over their cards. Near the Lego store and the American Stepford Girl store for easy practicing of the word "NO" (As in "No, you do not need another Lego set.") or course, capitulation. Terriific bargain, actually, for a sit down place, since you sort of serve yourself. Four can eat for under $40 if you're careful, and you'll have pretty delicious food.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Furcow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Every cuisine in one place”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Basement of Water Tower, it might not be the easiest place to find, but it is worth the search. They have a dozen types of meals all in one place, from Mexican to Asian, Italian to Comfort food to Fast Food. You can find anything you want to eat. This is a good place when you are with a larger group and nobody can agree. Great entrees, soups, salads and desserts. Also there are a great selection of drinks.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chiguy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Variety!”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

So many choices… and all are delicious. Easy to please everyone with the variety. Soup, BBQ, sushi, tex mex, pasta…..

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank SATBeditor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great choices - all good!”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

With a family of five, we all got to eat what we wanted. Some food is weighed by the pound (salads) and some pre-packaged. We sat in a room just through the wine room for some extra privacy and a quieter environment.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank mark l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Foodlife also viewed

 

Been to Foodlife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing