We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be daring, try the Decadent Drinking Chocolate”

Ghirardelli Ice Cream & Chocolate Shop
Ranked #10 of 183 Dessert in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Magnificent Mile
INDIANAPOLIS, IN
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“Be daring, try the Decadent Drinking Chocolate”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Ghirardelli's is a great place to go for a sweet tooth craving when shopping in Chicago. Normally you are offered a chocolate square at the door just for stopping in. You can choose from rows of bags of several varieties of chocolate candies, or you can proceed to the cashier to order drinks or ice cream sundaes. You can order for dine in or to go but be aware that the seating area is very limited.
My personal favorite is the Decadent Drinking chocolate but it is not for the faint hearted. In fact when you order it, the cashier will ask you if you are familiar with the product. It's almost like sipping melted down dark chocolate; very thick, very rich. You can practically hear your arteries screaming for mercy. I had one once that I couldn't finish right away and put it in the fridge. When I got back to it, it was the consistency of pudding. A decadent indulgence to be sure.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank IMBELLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    147
    39
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Love it.”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I usually come to Ghiradelli's whenever I am in Chicago! It is SO good! The ice cream sundaes are my favorite. Great for a late summer night dessert.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelgal12698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
293 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Glorious Hot Chocolate”
Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

Christmas shopping on Michigan Avenue, I had to stop in to treat myself. You should too! They have all kinds of dessert stuff that looked sinfully delicious. I got a simple peppermint hot chocolate. It was divine! Sipping it as I went from store to store really put me in the Christmas spirit. If you're around Water Tower Place, this is a great little place to chocolate-up! Of course they have all their retail chocolates available too. If you get out empty handed you're a better person than me!

Helpful?
Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Hot Chocolate to die for”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We had sea salt hot chocolate, so think and rich but delish... u may need a water to help it go down!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank blissemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Dessert for Dinner...Why Not?”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We decided after snacking our way up and down Michigan Ave all day that we would just eat dessert for dinner! It was a fantastic idea. We went with four people and each of us ordered a different dessert! It was fun to see all of the different creations come out! It was all delicious! I worked for an ice cream parlor before and completely respect them because that's hard and sticky work making all of those ice cream sundaes! Definitely worth a stop in but get ready to spend some ridiculous money on ice cream!

Helpful?
1 Thank Emily K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ghirardelli Ice Cream & Chocolate Shop also viewed

 

Been to Ghirardelli Ice Cream & Chocolate Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing